Is installing moonshell for both slot devices possible?

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Language, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. Language
    OP

    Newcomer Language Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I have an r4 with moonshell on it already, and I was wondering if there is a way to get my Nintendo DS or R4 to read from both the slots at the same time. Like let's say if I was playing a game on my R4, and I needed to have a second game in slot-2 to unlock something in the game on my r4, is it possible to do that with an R4?
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    flash the gba game to NOR, use a 3in1 or whatever gba expansion pack you want.
     
  3. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    What how_do_i_do_that said, but SRAM patch the DS game. Like for Pokemon, use Pokepatch on the DS game.
     
  4. Language
    OP

    Newcomer Language Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm sorry I don't know what an "NOR" is or how to "flash the GBA game to NOR". Is an NOR a GBA ROM like NDS is a Nintendo DS ROM? And is a 3in1 or GBA expansion another name for a flash cart?
     
  5. Language
    OP

    Newcomer Language Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    If I already have the actual GBA games, can I skip the whole flashing the GBA game to NOR and just patch it with a Pokepatch?
     
  6. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    A 3in1 is a GBA expansion. A GBA expansion is something that goes in Slot 2 that you use with a DS flashcard to play GBA games.
    Use Rudolph's GBA ExpLoader and press R once, then select your .gba ROM and press A.
    As for DS game patching, if you're playing Pokemon, use Pokepatch.

    If you have the actual game, no patching required.
     
  7. Language
    OP

    Newcomer Language Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, well you said if I have the actual game that there is no patching required. I have Pokemon Diamond on my R4, but I have 4 Pokemon GBA games that are the actual GBA games. I patched the Pokemon Diamond game with the Pokepatch and it worked, but I still don't think it's registering the 2nd slot when I put Pokemon Leaf Green in. What do I do now?
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica

Share This Page