Iron Clad on NeoDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by angela18, Jan 17, 2010.

Jan 17, 2010

Iron Clad on NeoDS by angela18 at 1:41 PM (2,535 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. angela18
    OP

    Newcomer angela18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys,
    is there a way to convert the just released Iron Clad rom (the one extracted from Wii virtual Console) on NeoDS.
    I tried to convert it but no success.
    Thanks!
     
  2. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it can be made to work. I think the converter is made specifically for the games that were dumped at that time. It probably needs to be updated, but there were no updates for about a year and a half, so...
     
  3. angela18
    OP

    Newcomer angela18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    Actually there is a video on Youtube showing NeoDS running IronClad:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GgycJUlAAQ

    So, somebody already did it (or this is a CD version of the game).
    Unfortunately all the description is in japanese I think.
     
  4. Thanks Ants--Tha

    Newcomer Thanks Ants--Tha Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    -posted with Opera Browser on DSlite-
    You have to `fool` NeoDsConvert.exe, take the wii-extracted rom, extract all 11 files to a folder, Do the same with a Metal Slug 1 MAME rom (.bin format files in a zipfile) to another folder open them up side-by-side. Rename all the Ironclad files, replacing the number (220?) on them with MetalSlug's .bin numbers(102?). Copy Metal Slug 1's "v2" file over to the ironclad folder. Put all the Ironclad folder's contents in a .zip named exactly like the MetalSlug1 zip (mslug?) and at a CMD prompt type Neodsconvert mslug -bios8 (if your neogeo.zip is a Uni-bios). Or just double-click neodsconvert if it isn't. Voila! you get mslug.neo which you can rename to Ironclad.neo . Everyone should try this game, NeoDS runs it well. Especially if you bought it on NeoGeo or Wii VC - there always should have been an official Nintendo-supported way to take your VC games on the go, with a slot-1 or -2 storage cart for them.. thanks to the work of great coders on NeoDS, JenesisDS, NESds, SnemulDS, we kinda have that. And props to the Lameboy coder for giving DS Game boy/color backwards compatability back. And middle fingers to Sega for lazily grabbing JenesisDS's code for a slowdown-filled Sonic classic pack for DS. You should be embarassed to rush that shit out for 40 bucks, nobody would call that playable if it were so slow on a Wii VC release. Blech. Play Ironclad instead.
     
  5. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Works great, thanks for your help!
    [​IMG]
     
  6. joseph1106

    Newcomer joseph1106 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Thanks Thanks,Ants--Tha... for posting the convertion method of Ironclad, however I still fail to convert the rom properly, Frist, the original Ironclad rom I've got (in zip format) only containing 6 files in side instead of 11. Also, after renaming the initial number of file in ironclad to 201 (matched that of mslug) and added the v2 file from mslug, the Neods convertor (0.2) cannot recognize the rom and so fail to do the convertion.

    I've tried to insert the C3 and C4 file of mslug into the ironclad rom to made it more 'like' the mslug rom, then it can be convered into xxx.neo but it can't be run in the NDSi console

    Do anyone successfully convert the rom ? would you please explain the process detially and I am sincerely thanks for your help. [​IMG]
     
  7. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    My ROM file contains 8 files. Thants' method worked for me. Maybe you should try and find a different rom?
     
  8. joseph1106

    Newcomer joseph1106 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    thanks for your answer, but what is the size of your ironclad rom ?
     
  9. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    These are the contents of my Ironclad rom file:
    27.01.2010 22:48 4.194.304 220-c1.bin
    27.01.2010 22:48 4.194.304 220-c2.bin
    27.01.2010 22:48 4.194.304 220-c3.bin
    27.01.2010 22:48 4.194.304 220-c4.bin
    24.12.1996 23:32 131.072 220-m1.bin
    27.01.2010 22:48 2.097.152 220-p1.bin
    24.12.1996 23:32 131.072 220-s1.bin
    24.12.1996 23:32 4.194.304 220-v1.bin
     

Share This Page