iPod Classic 50G: Windows Recognizes It But iTunes Doesn't

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by MissingNo._, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I traded iPods with my dad on my birthday. He gave me his Classic 80G. This would sync everytime I connected it, then recently I had to format it 9 times, then yesterday Windows would recognize it but iTunes wouldn't. My dad also had problems with this when he used it (switching iPod Libraries from Computer to PC makes it Sync perfectly for an unkown amount of time). I have searched online (everywhere, as most people might say [​IMG]) in most places but nothing would work! I am afraid to try the five Rs, especially the fifth. I will use it as a last resort. I will update this post with stuff I have tried.

    - Reset iPod while connected
    - Reset iPod while unconnected, then plugged in iPod
    - Smacking it on the back (otherwise known as spanking [​IMG]), then plugged in iPod, although only used for when a sad iPod is shown on the screen
    - Unplugged PC while off for 1:30, plugged it back in, turned it on, then plugged in iPod
    - Uninstalled all USB ports, reinstalled, then plugged in iPod
    - Uninstalled iTunes, reinstalled, then plugged in iPod
    - Tried on a different computer
    - Reseted iPod, then plugged in iPod
    - Reseted iPod while plugged in
    - Started Songbird with iPod Support add-on, then plugged in iPod

    Here's some info on my PC and iPod.

    - Running Windows Vista
    - Running iTunes 8.2.0.23
    - iPod Linux on iPod (Synced fine even when it had it on there)
    - Had Rockbox and iBoy on iPod (Synced fine even when I had it on there)

    Oops, named topic 50G instead of 80G. Could an admin please change it, not a big deal though, but when you have the time.

    Now, whenever a Pop-Up comes up saying do you want to scan and fix E: IPOD, iTunes unfreezes but still cannot communicate with iPod
     


  2. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Please really I need help.
     
  3. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    for some fucked up reason, the front USB ports dont recognize the things. or atleast that was my case
    UNINSTALL ALL APPLE SOFTWARE INCLUDING ITUNES
    REINSTALL ITUNES
    Plug into BACK USB port

    then send me love [​IMG]
     
  4. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Yeeeeeeaaaaaa I said I don't want to try this method. Like ever. Or unless I have no other option, but I don't know what any others are.

    AAAAAANNNNNNDDDDDD I don't have any back ports, only side ports. [​IMG]
     
  5. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I think there's a way to export your library as an xml file, isn't there? If you did that, I think you'd be able to restore it when you reinstall iTunes.
     
  6. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Or I could just copy the iTunes folder to somewhere else, then replace it when I re-install it. Why would I put it in a .xml?

    But I'm looking for OTHER solutions, so if someone has the same problem, they could come here and see all the solutions they have to work with.
     
  7. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, chances are that with all the time you've waited for a response, you could have reinstalled iTunes about 20 times already. [​IMG]
     
  8. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    ... Fine I will try it. But only because you're a smart ass [​IMG] JK
     
  9. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    "i dont wanna do what fixes it, is there any other way i can waste time?"
     
  10. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    That didn't work. I will send you hate [​IMG]
     
  11. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Try Songbird?
     
  12. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
     
  13. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Songbird won't read my iPod...
     
  14. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    http://addons.songbirdnest.com/addon/12

    You need the addon for iPod support.

    ...and I don't really understand your question earlier. [​IMG] What is it you want?
     
  15. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    IDK if you've tried this yet (I only skimmed the thread), but try opening iTunes then plugging in your iPod. Also, if your computer has multiple USB ports, try each of them. I find iTunes only recognizes one USB port.

    Also, iTunes is shit. It's the worst program I know of for music management. The GUI may look nice, but it's slow, annoying, and incompatible. I also have a classic 80GB iPod (video) and sometimes find iTunes not noticing my iPod is hooked up and it annoys me.
     
  16. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I have done the first one, doesn't work, I tried all of them. But none work. And iTunes won't freeze up when I plug it into one of my USB ports... maybe it's broken?

    Thats your opnion, may not apply to others [​IMG]
     
  17. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Um...what is it you want to use this program for?

    ...and it looks to me like there's something wrong with your iPod...have you tried using it on another computer?

    Also, have you tried resetting it? I think you do that by pressing the menu and center button for awhile.
     
  18. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I want to play multiplayer homebrew.

    Yes I have tried both, forgot to put in first post. And yes, you reset it that way.
     
  19. MissingNo._
    OP

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Now, Songbird freezes up when I plug my iPod in. I guess that iTunes and Songbird know the iPod is there, but it just can't communicate, sync, or work properly when plugged in.

    And now, whenever a Pop-Up comes up saying do you want to scan and fix E: IPOD, iTunes unfreezes but still cannot communicate with my iPod.
     
  20. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks to me like your iPod's broken. Dunno what's wrong though.

    ..and I don't really know of any application that does that. You could try making a post in the right board and maybe you'll get an answer. [​IMG] Or just do a forum search.
     

Share This Page