1. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,080
    Country:
    Poland

    (read description)

    I have discovered that Konami Code also unlocks 60 FPS.
    You can pass it anywhere - menu, gameplay. You don't need cheat below or any IPS file.


    But performance via Konami Code is worse than by cheat file for some reason - more framedrops.

    ------------------

    Original Post:

    Cheat file that enables 60 FPS in Ion Fury. Below 60 FPS game is slowing down.

    Recommended minimal OC settings:
    Code:
    handheld_charging_cpu=1785
    handheld_charging_gpu=768
    handheld_charging_mem=1600
    Game is very CPU hungry.
    More GPU power is needed only from time to time where are effects like explosions which are heavy on GPU. More GPU = less framedrops.
    Not tested in Docked mode.

    TID: 010041C00D086000
    BID: 2774B972A2ADFF45 (1.04)
    Code:
    [60 FPS]
    04000000 004ECAFC 0000003C
    
    [30 FPS]
    04000000 004ECAFC 0000001E
    BID: AB507FA827AFFF86 (1.06)
    Code:
    [60 FPS]
    04000000 004DFAFC 0000003C
    
    [30 FPS]
    04000000 004DFAFC 0000001E
    It's not IPS because I can't find what is overwriting this memory location.

    Copy folder 010041C00D086000 to sdcard folder

    atmosphere/titles (Atmosphere 0.9.4 and older)
    or
    atmosphere/contents (Atmosphere 0.10.1+)
    or
    reinx/contents
    or
    sxos/titles

    You need to use Edizon or Checkpoint to apply cheat in Atmosphere.

    Patch reducing resolution to 720p which reduces GPU usage:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/ion-fury-60-fps-hack.565209/#post-9057943
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by masagrator, Jun 16, 2020
    Smoker1, 1basti1, one-piece and 4 others like this.
  2. NekoNoor

    NekoNoor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the cheat, was just gonna try to look into it myself and was pleasantly surprised you already made it :). just a small headsup, ReiNX uses the contents folder as well now (so sdmc:/ReiNX/contents/)
     
    masagrator likes this.
  3. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,080
    Country:
    Poland
    Thanks for info.
     
  4. shedeus

    shedeus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Works great in docked mode, thank you!!
     
  5. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,080
    Country:
    Poland
    I have discovered that Konami Code also unlocks 60 FPS.
    You can pass it anywhere - menu, gameplay. You don't need cheat or any IPS file.

    But performance via Konami Code is worse than by cheat file for some reason - more framedrops.
     
    Last edited by masagrator, May 16, 2020
  6. Kirby567fan

    Kirby567fan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Morocco
    Since the game is running at 1080p in both docked and handheld modes, I decided to make a 720p patch for it.
    It should fix all GPU related frame drops. Recommended OC is 1758mhz on CPU and 1600mhz memory, there is no need to OC GPU.
    To install copy the exefs_patches folder to the atmosphere/reinx/sxos folder.
    Will only work with version 1.04 and 1.06.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Kirby567fan, Jun 16, 2020
    hippy dave, one-piece and masagrator like this.
  7. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    727
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wait what ... they hid the 60FPS behind the Konami code? Wow ... that's ... well something.
    Why not just have it as an option then? People be crazy...
     
  8. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,045
    Country:
    Austria
    With the Konami Code!? How is this supposed to work??:P
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Kirby567fan

    Kirby567fan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Morocco
    The framerate is really unstable and thats why they didnt make it obvious.
     
  10. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    727
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Fair enough.
    But so the Konami code way is really all over the place with 60FPS? That's a shame though.
     
  11. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,080
    Country:
    Poland
    600px-Konami_Code.svg.png
     
    Dodain47 and KiiWii like this.
  12. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,365
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,045
    Country:
    Austria
    Haha, you really have to insert the konami code to unlock the framerate. I thought this was a joke!:D

     
  14. 1basti1

    1basti1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Germany
    Nice. Soooooooo much better with 60fps holy moly. Thank you. Again. :)
     
  15. Reploid

    Reploid GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,806
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Wait... you mean switch can't run build engine game at 60fps w/o OC?
     
  16. 1basti1

    1basti1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Germany
    Watch the Digital Foundry Video 2 Posts above.
     
  17. Reploid

    Reploid GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,806
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    okay, sounds kewl
     
  18. nifoc2099

    nifoc2099 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Singapore
    So frame drops still occur even if we use the IPS cheat files that OC the console? Pity the game engine still utilises a single CPU core (from what i read).
     
    Last edited by nifoc2099, May 18, 2020
  19. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,080
    Country:
    Poland
    It utilizes 3 CPU Cores, but rendering is only on Core #0. Core #1 is used only at boot from what I tested, Core #2 is used all the time, but slightly.
    720p patch solves GPU usage, when Konami Code issue lays in something interrupting thread on Core #0. While playing game on stock settings or with my cheat, Core #0 usage is always at 100% on any CPU clock from 816 MHz to 1785. After activating Konami Code CPU usage on 1785 MHz drops to average 65%.

    Edit: My bad. It looks like rendering is on Core #2. Core #0 is doing something different. Core #2 is bottlenecking on low clocks while looking at far distance in 60 FPS.

    Still doesn't change the fact that Core #0 is interrupted by something after unlocking Konami Code.
    While having enabled 60 FPS cheat and Konami Code, performance is good.
    So my guess is that r_maxfps=99 is shitting on thread synchronization.
     
    Last edited by masagrator, May 18, 2020
    nifoc2099 likes this.
  20. 1basti1

    1basti1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey, can you update the hack for patch 1.06?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted