Install working Siri on any Android Phone

Discussion in 'Android' started by yusuo, Sep 2, 2012.

Sep 2, 2012
  1. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This has now been confirmed working on Android, so just follow the instructions and enjoy

    1. Download a Siri compatible app from the market place (Play Store), its advised to use "Sirious"

    2. Once downloaded open and go into settings inside the app itself

    3. Add the server "connect.patassistant.com"

    4. Under port add "443"

    All done, you will have to click on the icon on Android to get it up and running however there are apps on the Android market that allow you to open a specific program by holding down certain keys or performing certain gestures, However I can't remember the name of any right now.

    The voice recognition should be just as accurate as it uses the same server as the iPhone equivalent

    It won't look exactly the same but it will perform exactly the same

    This works on IOS as well and the tutorial can be found HERE
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. 1stClassZackFair

    Member 1stClassZackFair GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    thanks,let me see if i can find my tablet to try it out.
     
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    But Google Voice Now is better than Siri.
     
    4 people like this.
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might try this out soon. Just as a tip, one app that can allow you to run certain apps by e.g. holding the search button (along with hundreds of other cool stuff) is Tasker. It costs a bit of money, and for just doing this, it might not be worth it, but I have it set to do other stuff as well (e.g. when certain apps are run, the volume will be set to 8. For all other apps, it is muted, so that sound won't play if I start playing a game on the bus or whatever).

    EDIT: Meh, sirious costs money, won't bother trying that after all. I rarely want to use voice stuff, and if I do, I have Vlingo which was free.
     
  5. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it is but not everyone has access to Jellybean yet and this is a good alternative
     
  6. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Google Voice is nothing like Siri, it is a service related to phone calls, exclusive to the US (so I don't know a huge amount about exactly what it is, I think it gives you one central number for all your phone numbers or something). I am assuming you meant Google Voice Search. I would also not say that Google Voice Search is better than Siri. Google Now is, but not Voice Search (Voice Search is pre-JB, Now is the one in JB).
    As I said above, Voice Search is pre-JB. Google Now is the one in JB. Personally, I would say Vlingo is probably the best option for pre-JB devices.
     
  7. 1stClassZackFair

    Member 1stClassZackFair GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a bunch bro,it works great. Shouldn't you request a title change though? how about Installing siri on any android/ios device
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why? This post is specifically about installing Siri on an Android device, as the title indicates very clearly.
     
  9. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah theres a seperate post on how to do it on ios, you can find it in the iPhone forum or click HERE
     
  10. 1stClassZackFair

    Member 1stClassZackFair GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    My bad lol i thought i was on the other thread. derp
     
  11. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Thank you for correcting my post, I am upset at what I said earlier.
    What I meant was that Google Now is better than Siri.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Iris. is slighty better but you know what Google has? Native finnish language support! None of those apps even Siri on iPhone haven't had finnish support which makes using it now actually useful! Google also introdused some other languages as well so I'm not only one hyped. Also they got navigation working officially now so there's no reason to buy Nokia anymore ":D"

    If your phone has ICS then it has over 99% possibility to get JB upgrade. If not officially then by custom ROM. Cyanogen 10 is coming already: http://get.cm/
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    how about s-voice?

    I found it to be a bit slow myself but I think its because it sends the voice string to samsungs servers rather then computing it on the phone and sending a text string instead which I think is how google now and siri work
     
  14. Quietlyawesome94

    Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    Google Now can be installed on rooted ICS devices...

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1747224

    Voice search may or may not work for you though.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently the google voice search in JB works entirely in the phone/tablet, no network.
     
  16. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe Siri sends the voice data to Apple's servers which compute it into a text string, as their servers are far more powerful than the phone and they can store a huge library of voice clips of all different accents, so it can be transcribed to text much more reliably. I believe Google Now does the same by default. Google Voice Search certainly does (it can't do anything without a network connection, which means the voice clip is uploaded and processed on Google's servers. Otherwise stuff like dictating texts or whatever would work without network).
    Only if you have already downloaded the voice "dictionary" (no idea what it's actually called, but that's the only word I can think of) for your country. (Around a 30MB download or so). I have not seen how well it works with it downloaded, I have only seen it working when connected to a WiFi network.
     

Share This Page