Install Game after activate.iso?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by red_fox, Dec 20, 2009.

Dec 20, 2009
  1. red_fox
    OP

    Newcomer red_fox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    As we're still waiting on the new firmware I'm considering playing games using activate.iso, but I don't want to have to play from the disc, I much perfer to install the games.

    I'm just wondering can you install a game after running the activate disc, and then play from the hard drive (again after running the activate disc, of course)?
     
  2. Akuma147

    Newcomer Akuma147 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can.
     
  3. red_fox
    OP

    Newcomer red_fox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Excellent, thank you.
     
  4. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    Not being an asshole. but why didnt you just try it? That's what I did.

    Wynd
     
  5. Moose13

    Member Moose13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Can you load up the game without Activate.iso after it's installed on the HD?
     
  6. red_fox
    OP

    Newcomer red_fox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    I have enough games that I could (probably) wait until the new firmware, and if it didn't work then I'd have essentially wasted a dvd, it wouldn't have been a big deal but I was just looking for a simple answer to something I was sure someone would know (and a search got me nowhere).
     
  7. driverzx

    Member driverzx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Rosmalen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Doesn't matter, you're still getting banned if you have modded your 360.
     
  8. red_fox
    OP

    Newcomer red_fox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    I don't connect to live, it's not about being banned, it's about having my xbox run more quietly, and since I can install games via activate.iso, all that's left is convenience.
     
  9. skydoune

    Newcomer skydoune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Quebec City
    Country:
    Canada
    no
     
  10. driverzx

    Member driverzx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Rosmalen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then... Why use the activate.iso? Just downgrade the wave with WavePatcher.
     
  11. red_fox
    OP

    Newcomer red_fox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ah, that's even better, I didn't think such patched isos would work on 1.6, but it seems they do, so thank you, that's much simplier overall.
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,719
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even if you are not planning on live avoid wave patching games; LT may not bother to check such things but other firmwares might and historically they have checked to see if a game matches the wave it is supposed to be from.
     

Share This Page