1. Deleted-442439

    OP Deleted-442439 Newbie

    There have been several reports of users not being able to use the web applets without updating regardless of FW, DNS settings and several other factors, making it impossible to use the HBL and SwitchbruDNS.

    This has now been investigated by devs over at the Reswitched discord and we know the following:


    NeedsUpdateVulnerability is a function in the ns:vm service in the NS module.

    It seems that in systems with the issue it is set to 1, while "normal" systems have the value 0.

    When any of the web applets open they will check that value, if it is set to 1 a update will be needed, this update prompt can't be cleared by going into recovery mode making it impossible to launch the browser, and seems to be a issue on all FW.

    We do not yet know how this value was changed, but as the DNS servers don't block all servers it is suspected that Nintendo have made a undocumented server to change this value. (this is speculation) regardless it would be smart to now completely disable internet (airplane mode) until the cause is found. (If you still plan to block updates).

    What we do know: This issue is standard on all new Switches shipping on FW 4.1.0+ (see image 2)

    Is it patcheble?

    Yes, but right now Fusee does not have sdMMC support, so the only way now is to patch it through running Linux on the Switch and then applying a patch from there. Obviously that is not a easy solution, but until more is understood we have to wait.

    upload_2018-4-30_0-22-41.png upload_2018-4-30_0-23-5.png
     
  2. Taffy

    Taffy jdfiehgvrhfvhfjkvgrjhfejvgrjkbjvr
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    617
    Country:
    United States
    Will current non-affected users get affected by this? Or are we safe?

    I mean, as long as we don't update

    Also I'm posting this from my switch, which is actually my internet lifeline (long story)

    Should I disconnect for a while?
     
    Last edited by Taffy, Apr 29, 2018
  3. Stercate79

    Stercate79 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    hey, i'm one of the victims! :D
     
  4. Resaec

    Resaec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    Germany
    No, update right now /s
     
    Taffy likes this.
  5. Leonidas87

    Leonidas87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Country:
    Canada
    I was not effected today and then as of about an hour ago I'm having this issue with no solution as of yet. Hoping we get something not as difficult as setting up Linux because I have not gotten Linux running.
     
  6. The3rdknuckles

    The3rdknuckles GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    United States
    Well it’s a good thing I haven’t tried to run any HB in a while on my 3.0.0 switch. So no update for me to clear. I hope devs are able to help out those who aren’t as lucky or we get the soft mod CFW soon as everyone can enjoy HB again.
     
  7. Deleted-442439

    OP Deleted-442439 Newbie

    You should disconnect, we don't know how this works, but it seems more and more users are having the issue, if you don't you will be forced to use a hardmod.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    The problem is softmod CFW will be impossible without being able to use the browser, so everyone must turn of all wifi until we know more, even if u are on lower fw.
     
    uyjulian, Taffy and Leonidas87 like this.
  8. Darklinkreturns

    Darklinkreturns GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    Same! We should start a club. Or a band.
     
    nachuz, Dr.doom and Stercate79 like this.
  9. Leonidas87

    Leonidas87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Country:
    Canada
    What a lonely depressing bunch we will be in that band
     
  10. Rune

    Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    So as things stand, is every OFW version on the same boat now?

    And is the HBL unusable on all OFWs at this stage?
     
  11. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,959
    Country:
    Give up Nintendo, there's nothing you can do to stop hax. Forcing everyone to use a jig is hardly a win.
     
  12. Deleted-442439

    OP Deleted-442439 Newbie

    Yes. If the value has been changed it will be, if not HBL will still work, but could be patched any second you are using the DNS... so stay offline.
     
  13. Rune

    Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    I have to admit. As a owner of a 3.0 Switch, my jimmies are slightly rustled.
     
  14. Resaec

    Resaec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    Germany
    That is, if you use a DNS that blacklists... Using a whitelist DNS would solve this problem
     
  15. Deleted-442439

    OP Deleted-442439 Newbie

    In theory, but as I said we don't know what is triggering it, and there are no whitelist DNS's live right now, so offline is the only option.
     
  16. aykay55

    aykay55 Professional Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    905
    Country:
    United States
    I’m on 5.0.2, it works perfectly for me. Mind you I’ve set my secondary DNS to 1.0.0.1 so yeah.
     
  17. Resaec

    Resaec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    Germany
    You are right... It might use an IP instead of a hostname and circumvent the DNS completely, too.
    Offline is the best choice, second is an offline network for the switch only hosting HBL.
     
    Maximilious likes this.
  18. Leonidas87

    Leonidas87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Country:
    Canada
    You are updated so there would be no reason for you to be receiving an update message. Blocking you from using the dns
     
  19. LucaFraga

    LucaFraga Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Italy
    If all of this is true, I would advise everyone to use PegaSwitch with an Access Point with no internet access.

    For example if you own a Wi-Fi USB dongle you could forward it to a VMWare VM and create an access point from there and unlink the VM from your main connection
     
    Last edited by LucaFraga, Apr 30, 2018
    BL4Z3D247 likes this.
  20. Deleted-351540

    OP Deleted-351540 Newbie

    Hey, me too!

    I updated. But I was on 5.0.1 anyway, so...:(
     
    Last edited Apr 30, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [IMPORTANT], Possible, Nintendo