IGN claims to know 3DS hardware specs

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by wolfmanz51, Sep 21, 2010.

Sep 21, 2010
  1. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    IGN claims to know 3DS hardware specs.

    It seems to me the 3DS may just launch with a $200 price tag after all. Which would make sense as Nintendo would not want to charge more for its handheld than its console.

    Source

    EDIT: ok i decided to add this as many people seem disappointed at the specs but i think they are misunderstood.

    See 2 266MHz ARM11 processors are quite fast. Typically in todays electronics market devices run on x86 processors xbox, PCs, macs, ect which are the kind we hear about most often, and usually need high Clock speeds (like 3GHz) to do anything remotely fast because they can only handle one line of code in the pipe line at a time. The trend has been to make them multi core, so they can do more than one thing at a time. The downside to this is they use a lot of power (not good for a hand held).
    OR devices run on ARM based processors GBA, DS, 90% of cell phones, ipods, iphones, and even Apples A4 uses the ARM instruction set. The reason why is because they can run multiple lines of code at once (much denser code too). They rely less on clock speed and more on architecture, which is smarter because this uses less power to do much more. Also don't forget that the 3DS has a GPU which is ARM based too. Something not usually seen in smartphones or the ipod/phone line. look here ARM_architecture and here ARM11 for more info regarding the way arm processors function.
    Edit 2: also for comparison mobile chipsets these days tend to use only 1 processor for everything, and without using a GPU producing Graphics on those is Quite Process Intensive. So using 2 266MHz ARM11s is better than using one 532MHz processor, and using 2 266MHz ARM11s and a amazing GPU like the pica 200 even at 133MHz is way more capable than using Even the most powerful ARM11 which maxes out at 1GHz.
     


  2. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Uh oh. I smell another Spec debate a-coming 'round the mountain!

    ONTOPIC: Well, if these specs are correct, it gives us a much bigger insight as to what the 3DS holds within its sexy, 3D-ish seams!
     
  3. SparkFenix

    Member SparkFenix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Portugal
    Wasnt there gonna be a PICA?
     
  4. Fluganox

    Member Fluganox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wasn't one of the features the ability to copy games to the hardware, so you don't need to take cartridges everywhere with you? If there's only 1.5GB of internal memory, and games are up to 2GB, that means Nintendo are screwing us into buying SD Cards >.
     
  5. brooks

    Newcomer brooks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I've read somewhere that ARM has developed some kind of hardware based AP. Might those processors support it? I think it has something to do with dual arm processors.
     
  6. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    This doesn't seem right. DMP Pica200 is 200mhz. So no, they are wrong.
    EDIT: Read the article from the source, and why the hell would they scale it back? Do they mean scale it back as in under-clock it, or scale it back as in made a completely slower iteration for their own purposes. Both of which, are dumb ideas.
    EDIT2: After researching more, there is a 166mhz pica200, so maybe they are using that and IGN got their numbers mixed?
     
  7. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    --
    Interesting. I wish it had more storage space. 1.5GB isn't that much. 10GB would have been better and with the price of flash storage these days, it wouldn't be too expensive. IGN did lie before about the 3DS, though so this may not be true.
     
  8. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    well external flash memory may be cheep, but the kind that is used internally is faster (required for games apps settings ect) and different from external(good for movies photos and music). So therefore more expensive. for a good example just look at apples iPod touch line up's price difference's based on internal flash memory (which wont even a low you to expand it with external memory like the 3DS).
    I'm just glad I have all ready got a 32GB class 10 SDHC card for my DSi
     
  9. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I hope they're lying again. Just more regular ARMs, a bit faster? Not enough, IMO.
     
  10. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    I don't trust it.


    IGN is a terrible news site, and they gets their facts screwed up all the time.
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I can't see regular ARMs and a 166Mhz GPU doing all those fancy things we've seen in the demos.
    Nor Kojima saying "the 3DS is powerfulz and haz almost PS3-level models" with an hardware like that.
     
  12. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    ----Disclaimer: I don't know what I'm talking about-------

    Well, if it's going to have backwards compatibility, doesn't it have to have ARMs? Also, without arms, how will it eat sammiches?
     
  13. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Well, with the 3d POWAZ, of course!

    On Topic, I have no technical mind to this stuff... Heh, sorry. [​IMG]
     
  14. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    A lot of nice chips use ARM instruction set/architecture/whatever. The Tegra line from nVidia uses various types of ARMs (ARM11's and ARM Cortex) ranging from 600MHz to 1GHz. The 3DS doesn't have to go with some generic ARMs alone to get ARM architecture. I sincerely hope this is fake, as 2x266MHz seems mind-bogglingly slow compared to what stuff like the Tegra and others can pump out.
     
  15. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    All i know is i dont care. All the speculation on hardware caused a shit storm. So long as i get the 3ds in my hands with some good looking games i could care less whats inside. but i do have to admit the 1.5 GB of memory sounds terrible. i do want to see the wii problems were devs are restricted by what users can download without an sd card that nintendo will surely make no use of.
     
  16. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming you care if those games run, right?

    These specs are rather slow compared to what Nintendo has stated.
     
  17. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    ....your trolling right? if you say nintendo says itll be stronger guess what itll be stronger!
     
  18. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    well look a little further cause with hardware like that Kojima did use High Polly models in the Naked sample and that was only with 3 Months of working with the Hardware and a very small team imagine how good MGS 3DS will look when it hits shelves next year. Those Numbers are deceiving to someone with little knowledge of ARM processors. which is prolly why nintendo did not want to release the hardware specs to the general public.
     
  19. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You're talking like IGNs rumours are fact. We've no idea it was "that" hardware, because at this point it's just IGN saying so. ARMs are powerful, sure; but mobile chipsets these days (going by the Tegra and others that use ARM) tend to be faster than 266MHz.
     
  20. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    Thats because mobile chipsets these days tend to use only 1 processor for everything, without using a GPU producing Graphics on those is Quite Process Intensive.
    So using 2 266MHz ARM11s is better than using one 532MHz processor and using 2 266MHz ARM11s and a amazing GPU like the pica 200 even at 133MHz is way more capable than using Even the most powerful ARM11 which maxes out at 1GHz.
     

Share This Page