1. fatsquirrel

    OP fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,594
    Country:
    Hello lads,

    After getting up for the billionth time today to reset frozen WiiU (Im doing something with Retroarch) I was wondering...
    Would it be possible to implement a power off or reset button combo into the system?
    How hard would it be if possible? Would any of the devs be interested in making it?
    Just a wild idea but im sure many would be very happy with it :)
     
  2. tastymeatball

    tastymeatball GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Germany
    Is this even possible? If the system freezes then it doesn't perform any operations more and the only options are to either pull the plug or hold the power button for at least 4 seconds to perform a forced shutdown. To perform the first solution you can buy a remote controllable electrical outlet.
     
    Last edited by tastymeatball, Dec 3, 2017
  3. fatsquirrel

    OP fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,594
    Country:
    I was thinking about that tbh but was hoping it could be done without additional hardware purchases
    I mean if I had a penny for everytime my WiiU froze, I would be driving that Porsche now.
     
  4. IC_

    IC_ Go Vegan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,402
    Country:
    Poland
    It's as impossible as soft resetting with a DS flashcart when the game froze
     
  5. fatsquirrel

    OP fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,594
    Country:
    Damn, thats too bad to hear
     
  6. Lyrin

    Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    We'd need low level access equivalent to B9S on 3DS to do it (if even possible. Basing on info with Rosalina menu).
     
  7. fatsquirrel

    OP fatsquirrel GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,594
    Country:
    We should have that with cfw running no?
     
  8. Lyrin

    Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    If we just needed to run CFW to have full control, then a 3DS on menuhax would've been full control of the system.
     
    fatsquirrel likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Idea], reset, combo