1. sergster1

    OP sergster1 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Country:
    United States
    Just an idea. We can use it to enable IR Features on our flash karts for IR compatible games such as pokemon. Share your thoughts.
     
  2. Jasper07

    Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well it would be a good idea, but IR is just not the best connection thing imo. It would be handy for pokemon (if that uses IR, I don't know) but there aren't any other popular games I know of that use IR. And besides the cards would become more expensive.
    I would almost say, put Bluetooth on it instead of IR, but that would be useless as there would be nothing to connect it with.
    Maybe a dualshock 3, which would be awesome though...
     
  3. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,100
    Country:
    United States

    Did you even read the title? Why would cards become more expensive simply by supporting the IR port that is already in the 3DS? In any case, this is all moot and the 3DS (3DS mode) has yet to be hacked.

    And IR is much faster than bluetooth. The only issue would be holding the 3DS' steady enough to not lose the signal.
     
  4. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    If it is possible to work, they'd have to manually make patches for all the games in RAM to re-route the IR stuff. This would normally mean an outright "no", but since it's only like 5 games total it might be possible.
     
  5. Pippin666

    Pippin666 SSF43DE Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,090
    Country:
    Canada
    "If it gets hacked" is starting to be an annoying reason to start a thread.

    Pip'
     
  6. hundshamer

    hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Blacklisted Trader

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Country:
    United States
    Another pointless thread, but I would rather see the IR hacked for a universal touchscreen remote through a system menu hack 2 years from now.
     
  7. sprogurt

    sprogurt GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    This was one of the main uses I used my PSP phat for [​IMG]. Would love to see it for the 3DS!
     
  8. Jasper07

    Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    Netherlands
    gee you don't have to get all upset about it. That is just what I think will happen man. Besides, no one needs an IR port.
     
  9. tmactx

    tmactx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    pokemon Black and White. is that it gives internet wireless and infrared port.
     
  10. totalnoob617

    totalnoob617 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i agree a homebew app for a touch screen universal remote would be awesome
    they have them for iphone and ipod touch but stupid apple never put in an infrared emmiter even,which would have been dirt cheap ,much cheaper than a reciver also,and should have been implemented in the ipad,ipod touch and iphone from the begining,they have an adapter but its hella ugly,sticks way out and takes up your dock connector which sucks,the psp app is ok but there is no touch screen
     
  11. koji2009

    koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    You assume you can play DS games in 3DS mode, this is the same backwards thinking that some people had thinking you could play gamecube games in Wii mode.
     
  12. totalnoob617

    totalnoob617 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    well its kinda off topic,but now that koji metions it i also see posts about people talking about playing ds games with the analog controled on the 3ds with flashcards,so i was wonering is this at all possible?
    can we use the analog for ds games on the 3ds?i mean they did enable the games to be stretched to fit the larger sernn so maybe they enabled the analog in ds mode,i havent got a 3ds yet so i dont know,so sorry if this is obvious
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    The analog stick works, but it's detected as a d-pad. Meaning there's no actual analog sensitivity.

    EDIT:
    It's not possible with GC/Wii, but it is with other systems for example PSX games can have their textures smoothed and be read faster when played in a PS2.
     
  14. totalnoob617

    totalnoob617 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    yeas thanks rydian ,i had a feeling that would be the case,if it worked at all
     
  15. Feels Good Man

    Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a feeling it's going to be used like a motion controller for the Cafe. Something similar to how the Wii uses the IR port
     
  16. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy #JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,236
    Country:
    United States

    Wouldn't this be different though? On the Wii in GC mode there is no home menu. If you want to get back to the SM you have to reboot the Wii. 3DS, hit home and it asks you if you want to close the game. DS has no Home button, but 3DS does and it works in DS games.


    Anyone notice Nintendo got lazy? When they ported the few chunks of DS firmware to the 3DS, they left the "secret button" in the top left of the Internet Connections screen.
     
  17. TehSkull

    TehSkull Living the life
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Country:
    United States
    I heard it was an emulator, not DS-mode.
     
  18. jceggbert5

    jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    United States
    It does seem to be an emulator, because of some weird behavior, but noone is certain except Ninty...
     
  19. DrOctapu

    DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Country:
    United States
    No. There's no transmission there, as far as I know.
     
  20. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy #JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6,236
    Country:
    United States
    Emulator or not, some of the firmware is modified. Go into the Legacy DS Download Play. Hit (B) to exit it. Old DS's, it would shut down the system. 3DS it says "Return to menu?" So they obviously took enough care to modify the firmware to make it exit back to loader rather than shut down the system, but neglected to remove the useless secret button.

    Also, only size difference between DS Lite and 3DS, touch screen wise, 3DS is slightly wider and a hair or two taller. Why do DS games look like shit on it though >_>
     
Draft saved Draft deleted