I want to run Gecko OS but I dont have a SD card

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SectionX, Dec 24, 2008.

  1. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    I want to run Gecko OS to get ToS2 workings, but I dont have a SD card. Am I screwed? Is there any other methods getting gecko OS to work?

    It is x-mas and all stores are closed.
     
  2. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Let me get this straight.

    You want to run Gecko OS without an SD Card?
     
  3. Madagasca

    Newcomer Madagasca Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    screwed isn't the correct terminology.

    just put that hand in your pocket and pull out that cash and buy an sd card!

    if you can afford a wii - you can afford an sd card
     
  4. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    you fail at reading comprehension
     
  5. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yea, I was waiting for him to say yes and spam "YOUR SCREWED !!!!!!ONEONEONE" [​IMG] (That's to SectorX btw)

    You're screwed. If you can't wait a few days, then buy the SD Card on Amazon.
     
  6. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    all stores are closed so I cant buy a SD card.

    isnt there anyway to run it through network?
     
  7. Player77

    Newcomer Player77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's possible to use Gecko OS without an SD card.
    You can use a Gecko OS channel.
    However ...... to be able to install that .wad file ... you're going to need a SD card.
    Or ......... I believe Wad manager installs wad files from a USB stick aswell.
    You'd still need a SD card to use Wad manager though.
     
  8. loopguy

    Member loopguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    use wiiload to send the gecko os dol-file to homebrew channel, or try to install the channel with wadmanager if you have an usb-stick.
     
  9. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    thanks


    btw, i have a microSD card and a SD card adapter, do you think wii might read those?
     
  10. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    yes it does
     
  11. Xras

    Member Xras GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Yes, it does.. as long as the micro doesn't exceed 2Gb and is formatted FAT16.

    EDIT: Bah.. beaten to it
     
  12. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    I have kingston 2 GB [​IMG]

    so what do I do now? Do I just put the gecko os dol file under apps/

    ?
     
  13. Xras

    Member Xras GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes. Just put it under apps/geckoOS
    then fire up through HBC

    EDIT: Be sure to name it boot.dol [​IMG]
     

Share This Page