Hacking i updated my switch to 12.1.0 but my switch still gives me update notification

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
so yesterday i was booting up my switch and got into a game,(before updating) the switch then asked me to update firmware, so i got all the files i needed to update and updated via daybreak.
when i booted up again the switch still asked me for a firmware update, but i'm already in 12.1.0 and now game cards wont load. i need help please
i'm on syscfw latest atmos, i'm also banned
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
If I had to take a guess, your gamecard firmware wasn't updated alongside your regular firmware. Atmosphere also triggered NoGC to prevent the gamecard slot from being updated, as you can't downgrade it.
 

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
If I had to take a guess, your gamecard firmware wasn't updated alongside your regular firmware. Atmosphere also triggered NoGC to prevent the gamecard slot from being updated, as you can't downgrade it.
so now what can i do :c
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
Do you boot through Hekate and fusee-secondary? Or using fusee-primary (no Hekate.)?
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
Go into Hekate's options and turn off NoGC. Or just boot into OFW. Either will burn the eFuses and set the gamecard firmware to the latest one. But note you will never be able to use game cards on older firmwares.
 
Last edited by FEF1,

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
Go into Hekate's options and turning off NoGC. Or just boot into OFW. Either will burn the eFuses and set the gamecard firmware to the latest one. But note you will never be able to use game cards on older firmwares.
so if i turn off nogc i wont be able to use the gamecard reader right, and if i go to ofw how do i set the gamecard firmware to the latest one?
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
If you go to OFW, it'll do it automatically on boot. And if you turn NoGC off, you'll only be able to use game cards on your current firmware, or any later updates released.
 

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
If you go to OFW, it'll do it automatically on boot. And if you turn NoGC off, you'll only be able to use game cards on your current firmware, or any later updates released.
so i tried nogc and it still didn't work, should i do the ofw way? is there any risk?
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
Odd. Yeah, try just booting regularly into OFW. There isn't any risk. It's a process every single switch does when it updates.
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
It should work... This may be a bit of a stretch, but is there a folder in /atmosphere/kip_patches called "default_nogc"? If so, cut that, and paste it to whatever other directory you want, as long as you remember where it is. Then trying booting into Atmosphere again.
 

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
It should work... This may be a bit of a stretch, but is there a folder in /atmosphere/kip_patches called "default_nogc"? If so, cut that, and paste it to whatever other directory you want, as long as you remember where it is. Then trying booting into Atmosphere again.
now i get fatal error missing default patch for kip
:c
 

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
I thought that may happen. Okay, put that folder back where it was. Could you tell me what files you have in /atmosphere/config?
 

NightlightGT

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
3
Country
United States
It should work... This may be a bit of a stretch, but is there a folder in /atmosphere/kip_patches called "default_nogc"? If so, cut that, and paste it to whatever other directory you want, as long as you remember where it is. Then trying booting into Atmosphere again.
eyyy found a solution i accesed atmos by going into launch in hekate :DDDDDD
Thank you very much for your help i appreciate it
 
  • Like
Reactions: slaphappygamer

FEF1

Has ran into every thinkable error on the Wii
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
375
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Canada
XP
1,377
Country
Canada
They used the launch button in Hekate and chose either Sys or Emu. Instead of going to payloads and choosing fusee from there.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I like buying a big slab of like beef and throwing in the slow cooker with onions and carrots...