I never though I'd see the day...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Knyaz Vladimir, Apr 18, 2009.

Apr 18, 2009
  1. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    ... when a new brick is existant. Yes, I've discovered a brick in the Wii's code! There are bricks and semi-bricks, but this one is a mini-brick. Why is it called that? Because it does not affect the performance of the Wii directly! This brick does not damage your Wii that much.

    What is it:
    A mini-brick

    What does it do:
    Increases your loading time for the Wii System Menu
    Some channels will freeze after turning on (solution found!)
    The disc drive will be loud several times.
    Your Wii may experience errors in the code after using homebrew a lot. Does not affect all channels.

    Explain:
    Increases your loading time for the Wii System Menu
    -Well, it's not that much of a problem, now is it? It loads for about 3-5 extra seconds. That's it.

    Some channels will freeze after turning on
    -This affects all normal channels. Not much of a problem, you have to approach your Wii manually and turn it off by holding the POWER button. It should work again the next time.

    The disc drive will be loud several times.
    -Can't figure out why, really. Not much of a problem.

    Your Wii may experience errors in the code after using homebrew a lot. Does not affect all channels.
    -Playing backups will work, but using several channels, such as the Homebrew Browser v3 and sNES 9x GX 4.0.0, may give a glitch named Exception (DSI) occured! The error will require you to manually power off your Wii.

    Solutions:
    None, but it's not much of a big deal

    How did this happen:
    Might be an accidental brick by Waninkoko. Not much of a deal, though, remember?

    If any answers exist, I will update this!
     
  2. User423

    Member User423 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The load time of SystemMenu is Preloader, I think. Booting with my Wii (Preloader installed) took 3-5sek longer than normal, but thats not a problem for me.

    Have anybody some other ideas, to explain his problem?
     
  3. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    It's a theory, but I don't have preloader.
     
  4. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Um. That's not a brick. At all.
     
  5. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Would you stop calling this a BRICK... do you even know what the fuck a BRICK is??

    A real brick is a solid piece of material, commonly used for building a structure. Hence the techno-term. It is pretty much useless. You could use it for the same purpose as a building brick, and nothing else.

    A mini-brick that leaves your Wii completely functional? Your a fucking moron, and need to die a horrible death for continuing the legacy of calling something a brick that is not!

    And before anyone starts to bitch at me for flaming this guy, yes, he is an idiot for calling something that leaves his Wii completely functional a brick (or mini-brick, semi-brick, or whatever!)

    And just to piss him off even more,

    It's been translated!
     
  6. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    The Russian translation is technically incorrect, I speak it. And I have a few bricked systems. It's basically the use of a brick and without common sense, I'd call my Wii a normal brick.
     
  7. BlindDude

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    My wii acted like that when I didnt know wtf I was doing..
     
  8. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    GAWDDAMNIT. This is why GBAtemp can not have nice things.
     
  9. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    And what do you mean by that? Plus, I am not fighting at all. But this is what I am doing. [​IMG]
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    those are bugs in the programs, definitely not a brick !
     
  11. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Has to do with the application. Might be a gamecube controller/memorycard/nunchuk inserted that bugs the app out. I have it with the same applications sometimes.
     
  12. noir

    Newcomer noir Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Quoted for truth.
    Anyway, this thread is completely useless as the OP hasn't really provided any useful information, like what happened before all of this started. Do yourself a favor and throw your Wii out the window; it will stop making loud noise and then you can accurately call it a brick.

    *Fixed spelling of you're
     

Share This Page