Gaming I need urgent help with viruses

fairlyevenparents

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
united states
XP
176
Country
United States
OK so im must have done something very very wrong...ill describe my problem

OK i was downloading a torrent last night and i let it run throughout the night, then i had to go somewhere with my family for 5 hours, when i come back to check on the computer this is what i see,

a pop up for a anti-virus program that's not free, 50 pron websites, some scanner saying i have worms,trojans and other viruses that are high or critical, 100+ red shield icons, and i can access the web but i keep getting pop ups and i can't use any programs on my control panels and i cant use my outdated anti-virus program...please help i already read the sticky for this but i can't use the things i download

P.S: using another computer
 

Slyakin

See ya suckers
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
4,450
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Soviet Slyakin
XP
367
Country
United States
First off, because you can access the web, go and google Malware-Bytes Malware Remover, and let it scan the whole computer. Tell if it does anything.
 

fairlyevenparents

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
united states
XP
176
Country
United States
Thoob said:
zuriel102 said:
juggernaut911 said:
Boot in safe mode, use malware bytes, install a decent AV (I use MSE), click on all the popups!
I'll try right now.
He doesn't actually mean click on all the popups - you do know that dont you?

I know i was just booting up in safe mode trying to use the malware anti-bytes but i get Run-Time error '0'
Edit: now i get Run-time error '440'
Edit2: I couldn't update my other av but i can run it which im doing right now, any other things i should do?
 

juggernaut911

GBAtemp Slut!
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
4,164
Trophies
0
Age
10
Website
google.com
XP
927
Country
United States
sounds like your .Net may be weird.

download the .Net redistributable on a diff comp, use thumb drive to drag over, install, reboot (in safe made... this whole method should be in SM), try again
 

fairlyevenparents

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
united states
XP
176
Country
United States
juggernaut911 said:
sounds like your .Net may be weird.

download the .Net redistributable on a diff comp, use thumb drive to drag over, install, reboot (in safe made... this whole method should be in SM), try again

I'm sorry im not that computer savvy, what is .NET?
I have windows XP if that helps...
Can you send me a link to the download, if it's against site rules i understand.


Edit: ok so my smart scan found 50 cookies under category private object, TAI (dont know what that is) is 3, action removed.
I assume i should do some more scans and do other things

Edit2: crud the computer im using is a dinosaur, it doesn't have a thumb drive. I'd have to use a library computer or something like that.

Edit3: they're going to have to make a new shade of red if i can't fix the computer lol.
 

Hakoda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
2,133
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
278
Country
United States
Rydian's Solution to most virus problems That's all you're going to need
biggrin.gif
 

fairlyevenparents

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
united states
XP
176
Country
United States
Hakoda said:
BitDefender Rescue USB

That should help you out. BitDefender is a trusted antiirus, its rescue CD is free and that page will show you how to put on a bootable USB.

thanks i'll try it if i can find a USB


QUOTE(.Radiant @ Feb 27 2010, 07:28 PM) get into safe mode and use one of the online scanners. eset's or panda's for example.


What's is better eset or panda and are they AV's?
 

fairlyevenparents

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
united states
XP
176
Country
United States
Hakoda said:
zuriel102 said:
.Radiant said:
get into safe mode and use one of the online scanners. eset's or panda's for example.


What's is better eset or panda and are they AV's?
ESET. and yes they are. ESET Online Scan


What if Microsoft windows malicious software removal tool - feb. 2010 says i have "no malicious software detected"
Am i OK to boot up the regular way?

Edit: used the full scan
Edit2: still didn't work with my scan so ill try using the other ones suggested
 

zhuzhuchina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Location
Shanghai
Website
www.zhuzhuchina.com
XP
117
Country
Switzerland
with my exp, any antivirus even if they works, after all your computer system will be still modified, at end i always reinstalled with a clean system and later first thing install a good antivirus, before i used kapersky but recently i changed to antivir , seems all ok these antivirus, from past experience i avoid norton mcafee or microsoft products..
 

Nimbus

sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
913
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Probably being lazy.
Website
Visit site
XP
271
Country
Find a non-infected computer with internet access. Make sure you cut off any network access from the Infected machine (We don't want this to propagate do we!?)

Download SystemRescueCD from here (It's a Linux based live-cd rescue utility), download the iso of it and burn it to a non-rewritable disk (You'll need to use a program that can burn isos, copy and pasting the iso into the cd won't just work). Don't worry, it's free.

The one you want is the one entitled SystemRescueCd-x86-1.4.0

SystemRescueCD has ClamAV, which is an antivirus for Linux. It just so happens that ClamAV can detect Windows Viruses as well. You also have the added benefit of immunity from Windows Viruses since you are running this from a Live CD, which cannot be written to, and henceforth cannot be infected. In fact Windows Viruses don't affect Linux at all.

You may have to mount your drive first though in Nautilus or whatever file browser SystemRescueCD uses. Do not worry, Linux is again immune from effects of Windows Viruses, and even if it wasn't, you're running it from a Live CD, so the virus couldn't infect the CD anyway

Hopefully it'll be able to detect whatevers on there, or at least a good amount of it.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    This is not the EOF
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    wait i didn't get the time to see what it said
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    damn it, linuxares
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the shitbox has been effectively eof for a long time and it was perfect that way
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    ehh post it in the eof chat instead? i still want to see it
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    exactly, that's a good place for it x3
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Well this is interesting
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    For what?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't like this new shitbox, it's too complicated
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    well this isn't a shoutbox but a chat
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's basically the same thing shoutbox has been around for years just upgraded
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh the floating chat thing is new.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    And you can do formatting.
  • Arecaidian Fox @ Arecaidian Fox:
    Oooooh, colors.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I think what you meant was "colors".
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    :^)
    +1
  • antiNT @ antiNT:
    nice
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    hi o w o
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    yo does anyone know how to fix the 'no main boot entries found, check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use more configs button for more boot entries' error on hekate??? i keep getting it when i try to click the launch option
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out
  • chrisrlink @ chrisrlink:
    ugh always have trouble sleeping
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Have you tried closing your eyes?
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Hey, this is cool! Now we can chat pretty much anywhere.
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    RAINBOW 🌈
    AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219: RAINBOW 🌈