Translation I need help with extracting scripts to translate a visual novel (Re:ZERO The Prophecy of the Throne)

ElectroJ

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Spain
Hello everyone, I would like to translate the visual novel, re:zero the prophecy of the throne, into my native language, Spanish. But I don't know how to extract the scripts from the game and then inject them again (I'm a noob in game file hacking). Could someone tell me how to do it?
Thanks

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Every game is different, though there are common things seen in basically every system. It is doubtful someone has gone and documented this game, though I have been surprised by the visual novel translation scene in the past.

Text can either be as text (hex bytes converting to text) or as images (think bitmap images but can be one of many many formats, including custom). In visual novel world the image thing tends to be reserved for older games but still makes the odd appearance, and stylised text in the game images themselves will see you contemplating whether you want to edit the images.

Text then.
If you made a code as a kid along the lines of A=01, B=02, C=03 and so on then computers do the same, just using hex. The one you most commonly see is probably ASCII ( http://www.asciitable.com/ ), though unicode is supposed to take over from that ( https://www.joelonsoftware.com/2003...-about-unicode-and-character-sets-no-excuses/ ), Japanese has a few other choices ( http://rikai.com/library/kanjitables/kanji_codes.sjis.shtml and see same site for EUC-jp). Games though can be completely custom, more modern stuff tends to be one of the things mentioned above but again can be anything.
I will also note that visual novels are not necessarily basically a slideshow with a simplistic UI any more. This means that text can be found buried in a quasi scripting language or even outright programming language which can help things or make them harder.