I need a SNES region converter!

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Naito-Tanuki, Jun 28, 2011.

Jun 28, 2011
  1. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the ones on ebay are too pricey. Is there any places that I can go that does them cheap, or will I have to save up my money and buy one on ebay?
     
  2. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    you can solder a switch inside the snes to diable the lockout chip and shave down the corners on a PAL console/ tabs for NTSC to make the games fit.
    i did that, i'm sure it's the same for PAL consoles.
    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/nintendo...-switches-1.htm
    you can use this to make it have a 50/60Hz switch as well, i neglected to ad it and just used one switch to disable lock out.
    here is a pic of mine
    [​IMG]
    ignore the cable cord as it has nothing to do with this mod, it's just a modded power plug cause i had a AC adaptor with the right voltage but wrong plug end.

    there is also a switchless mod now
    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/download...egion%20mod.pdf
    but i prefer the switch.
    these mods are a whole lot cheaper although they are more system invasive(you have to open your SNES and can be dangerous if you aren't careful with a soldering iron.
     
  3. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That looks too hard to do, I mean I am too young to be messing around with a hot iron (I would burn the whole damn thing!).
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Get someone to do it for you.
     
  5. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if my local game shop would do it. (They're unofficial, not like Game or Gamestop).
     
  6. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    HOLD ON. What exactly is it you're trying to do? What model do you have? You are not clear on what region you want converted to what. Also, if you have a NTSC SNES you can EASILY just shave down the tabs inside the cart slot with anything from a small boxcutter to a screwdriver to play NTSC-J (Japanese) games. If you're trying to play PAL... then his suggestion would be the only way.


    You can't shave the "tabs" on a PAL console; they have a COMPLETELY different cart size than NTSC-U. There are no tabs.

    [​IMG]

    Top is PAL.
     
  7. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I only foreign game I have is Mother2! So when I get my SNES (friday or next week), I won't be able to play it. Can I mod the game instead? The SNES is PAL.
     

Share This Page