I need a new graphics card...

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Twiffles, Jul 21, 2008.

Jul 21, 2008

I need a new graphics card... by Twiffles at 3:59 AM (2,345 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Twiffles
    OP

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    While I'm saving money, I decided to save up for a new graphics card too. I have a utter piece of fail called "Nvidia GeForce 6150SE nForce 430". It's a default on this Vista comp. Any ideas on what I should get? Nothing over the top, but can play games like Team Fortress 2 and Portal perfect and maybe Crisis.... maybe.
     


  2. NeoWoeN

    Member NeoWoeN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Charleville
    Country:
    France
    Ati 4850. ( or 4870 )

    I'm playing a TF2 in very high, Portal too.

    For Crysis, 1680 * 1050 with high graphics.

    ( only for 150€ .... )
     
  3. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    The Radeon 4850 is what I'd recommend. It's around $160-$200 (USD) if you include the rebates that come with it, but the card packs a lot of power for the price. [​IMG]
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    whats your current specs

    like PSU, and open slots (AGP, PCI-e 16x ?), and buget (how much you want to spend)
     
  5. Twiffles
    OP

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]

    Eh, highest I'd probably go is $300~
     
  6. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Judging by the specifications of your computer, I would say that it has a PCI-E slot. Let me check the model to make sure...

    For your budget, a Radeon 4870 sounds like the optimal choice. [​IMG]

    EDIT: Yes, it has a PCI-E x16 slot, so a 4870 will work:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16883107512
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16883107512

    thats seems to be his PC

    now the concern is the PSU
    judging by the pics it has no PCI-e power conenctors
    which most likely means its can not support big GPU's

    can you open your case and copy the information on the sticker on the PSU and post it?
    that way I can see the watts and amps it is pushing the the 12v+ rail
     
  8. Twiffles
    OP

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Well I can't really open the case since my parents are here and won't approve, but from what I gather it's a 300w.
     
  9. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Do what this guy says. He's way smart.

    And get at least a 500 W PSU with the 6 pin GPU plugs. (Antec....)
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    he cant just stick that card in the computer and expect it to work
    the PSU cant provide power for it
     
  11. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
  12. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    You also might want to check if you can use a high profile card/low profile card. I only see 4 expansion slots. But you won't really know unless you open it. It's really dependent on where the PCI-E slot is located. Most of the 4850s look like they only use one expansion slot while the most 70s will use 2 for venting out hot air.
     
  13. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Get a decent Corsair or Thermaltake PSU (don't get Antec, reports on other forums of blowing fuses and stuff) which is 500W, possibly 430W (you might be stretching it, but it's all in the name of saving money). And go for an HD4850. It's better than the 9800GTX+ and it's full of win. But if the case is a low profile case... well I guess there's not much. Can you take a pic of your computer (and more specifically, the back?)
     
  14. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    there is pics of the back on the newegg link
     
  15. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    I meant the back of her computer. If her computer is a Mini ATX, then the PSU mightn't fit... I hate comps which you buy at the store...
     
  16. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    IMAGES FROM THE NEWEGG LINK:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    PCI Slots (Available/Total)
    (1/2) PCI slots
    (1/1) PCI-E x16 slot
    (1/1) PCI-E x1 slot

    Since one is being taken up, I assume the top 2 are the PCI slots, then the small is the PCI E x1, and then the PCI-EX16.
    There's gonna be a whole lot of wires in the way... But a high profile card might work as you probably might not use the X1. If you get a card with just a heat sink(probably not too good for gaming?), it might be too large depending on its size.
     
  17. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you don't want to go all out, you could just buy a good mid-range card. The 8800GS and 9600GT are good choices. If you honestly just want to play games at low resolutions like 1024x768 or 1280x960 then you might as well get an 8500GT or HD 3650. They probably could only play crysis at medium settings but it probably wouldn't matter to you. Also, they're considerably cheaper than the rest.
     
  18. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    The best thing you can purchase right now is an 8600gt.

    HP computers don't come with additional +12 volt rails so you can't attach a high powered graphics card.

    Alternatively, you can wait for the 9500gt... a little more powerful than the 8600gt.
     
  19. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia

    As a rule of thumb, you need 430W minimum for a graphics card. 300W will die even with a 6600GT. To be perfectly honest, you CAN'T upgarde. Even an 8600GT won't be compatible. Well it could possibly run at first, but you would get a lot of lag errors, BSODs, and damaged hardware over time. Especially when the computer's under load (e.g. during a game or HD movie), your graphics card will eat up a lot more power.

    Also Xcalibur mentioned above that you could possibly play Crysis on medium with an 8500GT. I wish that were the case. Unfortunately I had massive problems playing on medium at 1440x900 with a 7950GX2. Most reviews used medium detail anyway... so Crysis is definitely out of the question with any low end card.
     
  20. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the 7 series were the first ones to use sli on a stick and had a lot of issues. I've played crysis on those settings before and it worked fine in DX9. A new PSU would also be a good suggestion too.
     

Share This Page