I have some good news

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by chillyloop, Jun 11, 2009.

Jun 11, 2009

I have some good news by chillyloop at 6:36 AM (2,643 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just bought a new UK wii off ebay and I should get it tomorrow. [​IMG]

    What is the first thing I need to check to be able to soft mod it please? I am looking to play backup games from my seagate external hard drive.
     
  2. SoLuckys

    Member SoLuckys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Paralimni
    Country:
    Cyprus
    serial code( if its LU64 i think its unsoftmodable) and if it has system menu 3.4 and lower
     
  3. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is a UK PAL wii so it won't have LU64 and LU65, so how will I know if it's unsoftmodable?
     
  4. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all UK Wiis (currently) are softmoddable.
     
  5. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The was a post on wehackwii.com yesterday thats boasting of a kit that can fully mod LU64, tested and working apparently! Hope so, for the LU64/65 crowd out there
     
  6. SoLuckys

    Member SoLuckys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Paralimni
    Country:
    Cyprus
    oh sorry( [​IMG] i am 2 months behind from wii hacking) i think if it has system menu 4.0 [​IMG]
     
  7. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, so I just need to check if it's 3.4E or 4.0E? If it's 4.0E, can I still softmod it?
     
  8. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, 3.4 is easier to mod but 4.0 can be modded or downgraded if need be.
     
  9. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I now have my wii so I will report back and let you know what version it is once I have set it up. [​IMG]
     
  10. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The serial number begins LEH25 and the version is 3.4E. Do I have a good wii?
     
  11. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could someone guide me through soft modding my new wii? I have been reading different guides but I am getting confused. Someone said that I need to try and install bootmii as boot2 but I have not got a clue on how to do this. I really do not want to mess up my wii and would be extremely greatful if someone could help me.
     
  12. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm not sure about softmodding new wii's, though the twilight hack is compatible with 3.4 if I recall. Just get a copy of Twilight Princess (Rent or something) hit up wiibrew.com and off you go. Though be sure to post some more if you are unsure or need more questions.
     
  13. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NOt being funy mate but check the stickies for the wii hacking section.
    All the information is well documented and listed in there, and if individual people start offering you advice you will only end up confusing yourself.
    Can't remember exactly which method I followed but i did mine so long ago that things have definitely moved on since there. My wii is a patchwork quilt of methods and hacks and stuff now and I couldn't clearly tel you what i did if i tried.

    As I say I'm not being snotty or funny but there really are some great guides in the stickies.


    Good luck mate - hope it goes well for you.
     
  14. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the HBC now installed but it says I can only install bootmii as an ISO, so I assume this is a problem?
     
  15. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just install preloader.
     
  16. chillyloop
    OP

    Member chillyloop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have sent you a PM.
     

Share This Page