How to use softreset in R4+YSMenu

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by niu, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010

How to use softreset in R4+YSMenu by niu at 12:23 AM (10,493 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. niu
    OP

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    google translation
    Download ttreset.dat for R4+YSMenu
     


  2. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna try it to see if it works.
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Since I understand how to get it working now, I'll update my post here with more clear instructions on how to get it working.

    1). Take the ttreset.dat that is included in the link and place it in your TTMenu folder.
    2). Take the YSMenu.nds (Not an R4 Encrypted .DAT file!) -or- moonshl2_DirectBoot.nds and DLDI patch it for R4.
    3). Rename YSMenu.nds -or- moonshl2_DirectBoot.nds to R4BOOT.DAT and place it on the root of your card.
    4). Soft Reset with A+B+X+Y+L+R
    Advanced instructions for a customized Soft Reset

    DLDI Patching: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/
    Grab the R4(DS) - Revolution for DS DLDI and Win32 GUI patcher.
    Place the R4tf.dldi into the DLDI patcher folder, run dlditool32.exe then drag/drop the YSMenu.nds file into the window and press Patch.



    If you're still having trouble, I've uplaoded it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?nm4jj4gztj0
    They're all ready to go for both Moonshell2.09 and YSMenu. Just drag/drop the files to their folders and overwrite if needed.
     
  4. BuckMcCoy

    Newcomer BuckMcCoy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow! I can't believe it actually worked! Thanks a lot! All you have to do is go to Yasu's page and dl the most recent YSMenu file, patch YSMenu.nds with r4's dldi. Then just rename it to R4BOOT.dat and stick it on the cards root. After that do the hex edits mentioned above on ttreset.dat (or just download the one given in the link above) and voila! It works! Also, you should add the line:
    ; Default Reset Setting
    DEFAULT_RESET=true
    to YSMenu.ini if you don't already have it. Thanks again!
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it works... but too bad you can't use it with Moonshell2.

    It seems the R4BOOT.DAT -must- be YSMenu, so if you use the soft reset with Moonshell2 it boots right back into the game from YSMenu's autoboot.
    Also, you can't alter the "R4BOOT.DAT" to "_DS_MENU.DAT" which would make it a cleaner setup.
     
  6. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    The R4BOOT.DAT is just ysmenu as a file, so renaming to _DS_MENU.DAT won't work but you can open the ttreset.dat with a hex editor and search for the text string R4BOOT.DAT - rename it to something else along with renaming the R4BOOT.DAT. If you don't like the naming. btw renaming the R4BOOT.DAT to R4TF.NDS should allow the user to soft reset moonshell (w/o autobooting) back to ysmenu. If you mean moonshell w/ysloader than, no it won't work.

    Edit: Since ysmenu only autoboots nds files, I've found that using a DAT and soft reseting games w/ysloader does work.
     
  7. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So ... how do you do it?

    Sorry, I don't really get it. [​IMG]
     
  8. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Download the ttreset.dat above, place it in the TTMENU folder. Using r4ysauto make ysmenu as a file and rename it to R4BOOT.DAT.
     
  9. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you mean the _DS_MENU.dat?
     
  10. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Why can't someone just upload a working R4BOOT.DAT?
     
  11. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I second this! >D
     
  12. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    It makes me wonder why it wasn't in the original package...

    OFFTOPIC: Hi-5 for Hobo-Phoenix
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's rather simple, but poorly explained/translated.

    Take the ttreset.dat that is included in the link and place it in your TTMenu folder.
    Take the YSMenu.nds (Not an R4 Encrypted .DAT file!) and DLDI patch it.
    Rename YSMenu.nds to R4BOOT.DAT and place it on the root of your card.
    Soft Reset with A+B+X+Y+L+R

    DLDI Patching: http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/
    Grab the R4(DS) - Revolution for DS DLDI and Win32 GUI patcher.
    Place the R4tf.dldi into the DLDI patcher folder, run dlditool32.exe then drag/drop the YSMenu.nds file into the window and press Patch.
     
  14. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
  15. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    That is true, I forgot to mention to maintain character length, such as R4BOOT.DAT to TTMENU.DAT would work.
     
  16. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  17. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    All you'd have to do is take YSMenu's NDS file and encrypt it using R4denc: http://filetrip.net/f977-r4denc.html



    Anyway.... I'VE GOT SOFTRESET WORKING FOR MOONSHELL (2.09)!!

    1). Use the ttreset from above, place it in your TTMenu folder
    2). Take moonshl2_DirectBoot.nds and DLDI patch it.
    3). Rename it to R4BOOT.DAT and place it on the root.


    Here is an ALREADY SET UP version: http://www.mediafire.com/?nm4jj4gztj0
     
  18. pitman

    Member pitman Addicted to Magical Girls

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,080
    Location:
    Where rockets don't fall.
    Country:
    Israel
    It works !!! [​IMG]
    Thanks for bringing this to our attention !
     
  19. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    I already suggested this on my previous post. I guess I should have gone into more detail.
     
  20. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is using MoonShell as a Firmware better than YSMenu?
     

Share This Page