How to use IOS58 with HBC?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Barbanera, May 17, 2011.

May 17, 2011

How to use IOS58 with HBC? by Barbanera at 3:09 PM (4,631 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Barbanera
    OP

    Newcomer Barbanera Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    My Wii is still running on 3.4E and working fine with HBC 1.0.8, Cfg USB Loader etc

    However, now I wanted to try WiiMC and it reccomends running HBC with IOS58,
    whereas mine is running with IOS37.

    How can I make HBC run with IOS58? Is there a way to do it painlessly, that is
    without having to redo everything from scratch (Zelda etc)?

    Please note I did install IOS58 on my Wii,
    just it is not being used by HBC and I don't know how to force it to.
     
  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Country:
    United States
    2 options.

    1. use the IOS 58 Installer and then reinstall the Homebrew Channel using the hackmii installer, or

    2. Use ModMii to get you up to date with everything else in your system also.
     
  3. Barbanera
    OP

    Newcomer Barbanera Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks but consider that wifi is not working for me.

    Moreover, I have IOS58 already installed in my system (I downloaded it on my PC which is the only option for Internet access here).

    Edit: LOL, I just read your signature after posting.. so I can run ModMii for Windows.. I will give it a try but having
    IOS58 already on the Wii is there not some other way?
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Country:
    United States
    ModMii is a pc app that can download everything for you and generate a custom guide. Take a look at it. Link is in my sig.

    But if you are sure that IOS 58 is installed on your wii then you just need to reinstall HBC from hackmii installer.
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Reinstall the HBC.
     
  6. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep. Once you have all the files from the ModMii downloaded, the install on Wii is totally offline.

    But like the poster above said, reinstall the HBC, then check what IOS its using. It should be 58 after youve reinstalled.
     
  7. Barbanera
    OP

    Newcomer Barbanera Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    I downloaded ModMii but at the moment is overwhelming me...

    Do I understand correctly that if I just use hackmii installer it will let me reinstall
    HBC over the existing install, giving me the option to base it on IOS58?

    Thanks.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
     
  9. Barbanera
    OP

    Newcomer Barbanera Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, hackmii worked painlessly, thank you all for your pointers.

    Edit: As for ModMii being overwhelming I am sure it is really user friendly and all.

    I just thought it was overshooting my particular problem and I thought - as it turned out -
    I could do the upgrade needed in a simpler way.

    I do plan to go through ModMii soon, I am sure it will have many useful suggestions for me [​IMG]
     

Share This Page