How to Update CyclosDS firmware

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Prathik, Mar 24, 2010.

Mar 24, 2010
  1. Prathik
    OP

    Newcomer Prathik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I have a CyclosDS card and its version 1.45. I downloaded the 1.57 and 1.58 firmwares for it, it says to just copy paste the .evo file into the root of your microSD card and turn on your ds, it should do everything.

    Problem is, my DS just.. doesnt do anything. I can play games and everything is fine, but It just doesnt .. update?


    PS: I was going to post this on the CyclosDS forums but somethings wrong with their forums or server, wont let me register.
     
  2. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    Hrm. Are you sure you put the file on the root? The 'update.evo' file goes directly on the root, and when you boot up the Cyclo, it should have a screen that prompts you to okay the update..
     
  3. Prathik
    OP

    Newcomer Prathik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    .. um I'm actually confused by the term root.

    Like, when I open the microsd, I have 2 folders, one of them is the cyclods folder, and the other moonshell. All the games ans sav files are right there, not in any folder. Is that where I put it? I actually tried both, putting it where the games are, and also in the cyclods folder.
     
  4. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    Mmm, the first should be correct. The root is like, the very very base of your microSD? I'm not very good at explaining...yeah, but it's basically the screen when you first open up the microSD. Maybe try organizing your games into a GAMES folder? And then try putting the 'update.evo' file on the root.

    Sorry if I'm just spewing out ideas. This has never happened to me so I'm just conjecturing..
     
  5. apb407

    Member apb407 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United States
    basically what you have to do is if you drag and drop things to you card insead of dragging and dropping to a folder just drag and drop it to the card name itself then its on the root, for example those folders are on the root of your card right now
     
  6. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    The root is the base folder of your MicroSD. It should show the CycloDS and moonshell folders, and all your games. Place the update file in there.
    The CycloDS folder is only for skins, cheats, and advanced settings editing. Don't put ROMs or updates in there.
     
  7. Prathik
    OP

    Newcomer Prathik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, will try again now.
     
  8. Prathik
    OP

    Newcomer Prathik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Okay this may sound stupid.. but since I have a v1.45 does that mean I should update to a v1.46? or can I jump straight to a v1.58?
     
  9. flameiguana

    Member flameiguana that's not me

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Just get the latest, it don't matta
     
  10. Prathik
    OP

    Newcomer Prathik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    gah, then somethings weird here..
     
  11. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Try force installing the firmware by holding Down + B while booting your CycloDS and then pressing A once you see "Press A to load from MicroSD".

    By the way what do you mean by it wont let you register? Does it say something like "your email is banned"?
     
  12. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put your update.evo on the Sd card not in any folders. Just on the blank space where you see moonshell and cylco and games folders. when you knock on the Ds.

    Go to press the Cyclo then you should be prompted too update. Yes you can go up from 1.45 to 1.58 no problem. Whatever you do when updating don't knock off your Ds or you brick it in the process of updating.
     
  13. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page