How to reboot a laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by jaywilson, Mar 1, 2009.

Mar 1, 2009

How to reboot a laptop by jaywilson at 6:15 PM (1,697 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. jaywilson
    OP

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have my step mums old laptop, but i cant log in because i do not know her user name or password, is there a way i can reset or reboot it myself?
     


  2. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Keep the power button pressed then restart it. But if you don't know the password you can't login even after the reboot...
     
  3. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Since she gave it to you (I'm assuming she did.) can't you just ask for the user and pass?
     
  4. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    If she has XP SP1 (I think) you can push F8 (i think) and open in safe mode. While in safe mode, on the login screen, you will see an account with no password called Administrator.
     
  5. jaywilson
    OP

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    she hasn't used it in 2 years and cant remember it, it was from her work so it was a login number, not just her name
     
  6. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Safe-mode boot as administrator and then just remove the passwords. If that doesn't work there are other methods but they're either 1) Cost money or 2)Take awhile
     
  7. jaywilson
    OP

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    that was somewhat helpful, i did the f8 thing and started in safe mode, but when it came to the log in part it was the same as before, input user name and password



    (sorry for double post)
     
  8. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    Installing Linux is neither illegal nor costs money. But I guess he doesn't want Linux... TC, you're probably better off installing Windows from scratch. Besides, I'm sure you'll want a clean drive, without all the stuff your stepmother had in it.
     
  9. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just input the username as "Administrator" and leave the password blank. Its XP Pro right?
     
  10. jaywilson
    OP

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried that didnt work
    thanks again for you help though!

    how do i intall windows from scratch?
     
  11. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    If it has a CD drive you can boot with Ophcrack Live CD then recover the password.
     
  12. jaywilson
    OP

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    i might try that,
    by the way it says the os is Justice windows XP profesional

    EDIT
    after reading that thats way too difficult, i dont even have a burner to put that program on a disc
     
  13. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not much use if you don't have a burner but if you can get access to one to burn an iso then use HIRENS boot disk and use Active Password Changer to remove the SAM password files [​IMG]
     
  14. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you have a USB stick you can make the Ophcrack Live CD run off that.
     
  15. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Go into safemode, open up run, and type "control userpasswords2"
     
  16. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hiren's boot CD? Easy way of resetting the paswords. Really oldschool of course would be to crack the sam file [​IMG]. Anyway resetting the passwords can be done with loads of tools [​IMG].
     
  17. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
     
  18. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    it's a pirated XP version, just find a way to get a hold of another pirated XP version and re-install windows. you'll want to start fresh, like other people were saying, anyway.

    i'm sure you have friends. use them. as in, their burners. or buy one if you have a desktop. newegg sells good burners for 20 bucks.
     
  19. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    WORKS FOR ME!

    boot HIREN'S using BOOT CD first in bios settings load Active Password Changer in the settings of HIREN'S get it to scan the drive and choose to delete the SAM file when it finds it do that for each acct on that machine...and that's it lol takes about 5-10 minutes max [​IMG]

    I just find HIREN'S the easiest way ... that and I carry it in my disk bag mainly for that soul purpose lol [​IMG]
     
  20. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    There is also another trick to change the password with Windows XP:
    -Insert a Windows XP Pro CD into the laptop and start it
    -Choose to recover your Windows installation (you go on with the installation and it will say that there is already Windows XP installed, than you choose to recover it)
    -After the reboot you have to press Shift+F10 as soon as it says that is installing the peripheral drivers
    -Command Prompt!
    -Write usrmgr.cpl and press enter
    -Account Manager!
    -Change Password
    -Finish the reinstallation and login [​IMG]
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page