How to prevent Save Corruption in M3 Kaura

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by dsrules, Feb 6, 2010.

Feb 6, 2010
  1. dsrules
    OP

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,302
    Country:
    make a topic of it in case some people don;t see it elsewhere

    To prevent save corruption in M3 Kaura, rename all your saves files extension from .sav to .SAV and happy gaming!
     
  2. Flame

    Member Flame Me > You

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415
    Country:
    thats odd, the new supercard firmware EOS has the same problem, which is based on acekard rpg firmware, and this looks alot like the acekard firmware......
     
  3. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank alot this will come in handy [​IMG]
     
  4. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried this with the 3rd Phoenix Wright game and it doesn't work :\
     
  5. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Was your save already corrupted?
    I tested with new super mario bros and my rom played fine and saved etc.
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It was originally corrupted and I replaced it with my backup from before I put on Kaura.

    I think this may only be working for you guys because you originally had it corrupted and then replaced it with the .SAV backup, while in reality I think that would have worked whether or not you renamed it.
     
  7. Excellentnuke

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it with Sands of Destruction and it worked. I only copied my .sav to my computer in the event that it doesn't work. Other than that, I never changed it.

    It didn't work with Platinum and Soul Silver.
     
  8. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like it will work with SOME games.
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,824
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well it worked for all my games so far. Like Chibi-Robo I was having problems with and that one works fine now...yay

    My Pokemon Platinum and Soul Silver are working fine
     
  10. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Wow ok so I just ran Phoenix Wright Trials and Tribulations through Sakura with my perfectly normal sav (it wasn't even .SAV it was regular .sav), I went into the RTS menu, soft reset to Kaura, then ran it in Kaura. It didn't try creating a new save, nor did it corrupt my current save. BUT when the game came up the only option I had was "New Game".

    I went out of that and it worked perfectly in Sakura again...

    EDIT: I also think I know why dsrules had problems saving game settings for some games. I think it may be because of Sakura's global settings and how it likes to lock settings in place if it's on.
     
  11. dsrules
    OP

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,302
    Country:
    @DeltaBurnt, after your save file was corrupted in Kaura, you copied a working backup sav file over to your microsd, rename it to SAV then run the game again from the Main Menu and it got corrupted again, right?

    the proiblem is, if you run a game from Kaura's Main Menu, and your sav save file got corrupted. then you copy a backup working sav back the to microsd and rename it to SAV, after that, you need to run the game from inside your Game Folder, not from the Main Menu, if you run it from the Main Menu it'll get corrupted again and again.

    and the reason the Game Settings are not saved in Kaura could be because the OPT file that Kaura created (only 1FF in hex) is smaller than the OPT file that Sakura & Touchpod created (which is 2FF in hex), it should be the same files files for all 3 systems, but Kaura's fileszie is different (could be a bug) thus Kaura has problem handling OPT settings.
     
  12. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    By run the game inside my game folder do you mean use the browsing function to launch it instead of the recently run list? If you mean that then that's what I was doing from the beginning.
     
  13. dsrules
    OP

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,302
    Country:
    yes, you need to click on the NDS icon and load the game from there after replacing the corrupt sav with SAV
    if you run the game again from the Main Menu after replacing the SAV file, it'll corrupt again..this only applies to the game that's on your Recent Game box
     
  14. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I did, I replaced the sav with a SAV and ran it via the NDS icon loader.
     

Share This Page