How To Make your own CSM

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by digitydogs, Feb 11, 2009.

Feb 11, 2009

How To Make your own CSM by digitydogs at 2:52 AM (36,688 Views / 0 Likes) 308 replies

  1. digitydogs
    OP

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Now that 56killer has posted the charts to the .ash files i know alot of people are going to be attempting to alter their system menu graphics. So i'm going to give the basic layout to change any file on the wii. This is the method i used to safely make the changes in CSM. Before attempting any changes you need to have preloader installed and get a copy of the .app you are using (42 NTSC or 45 PAL) and the app installer. This is your escape plan if you make a bad change and corrupt your menu.


    You will need the following tools. Try to find the appropriate language for you, it makes things alot easier. It MUST be these tools to work properly. This is the only reliable combination i have found.
    Adobe Photoshop CS3 or CS4
    U8Tool by HowardC - Used to unpack.pack app file
    u8Pack 0.8.0 by gally - Used to inject the tpl into the unpacked ash.arc file without unpacking.
    TPLConv .4 by by gally - used to inject image files into tpls and select transperancy
    ASH.exe by Crediar - used to decompress the ash into ash.arc files.

    I'll try to keep this simple and easy to understand. Only change one image at a time, that way if you make any mistakes you'll know what image it was on and you can easily fix or undo it.

    Copy the 4x.app file that you obtained into a new empty directory
    Run U8tool Next to the entry for Archive file Click the ... box to enter file selection menu. Select your 4x.app
    Click the lower left button marked extract. Wait Awhile... Quite Awhile.... I'm not kidding. No its not frozen.. its just slow... No you can't use something else to do this part, they don't do it properly. It can take up to two hours, since it can only see one processor and one thread [​IMG] Don't worry packing only takes 20 seconds.
    Once it finally finishes unpacking copy the 00000004x_app_out directory to somewhere for safe keeping, so if you mess up badly you never have to extract that again. you could even rar or zip up a copy of the directory if you want.
    Using 56killers ash guidechart find the image you want to change.
    Copy Ash.exe into the 000004x_app_OUT\layout\common directory
    Drag the ash file that contains the images you wish to change onto ash.exe, or from a command prompt in the current directory just run ash.exe
    This will output a .ash.arc you can now delete the original .ash
    Rename the .ash.arc file to .ash
    delete the ash.exe copy from the common directory
    Thanks to how 56killer has made his charts we can use them to our advantage and skip several tedious steps.
    Right click on the image on 56killers post and select save image as, then save the image as it is named it will be a bmp
    Open this bmp in Photoshop CS3 or CS4.
    Make the changes to it that you want to take effect, but you cannot change the size of the image. If it is an image with a transparency it is best to use the color the original images use for transparent areas, you can get away with other colors, but on some images it causes the rest of the screen to go distorted. Save your image as a 32 bit bmp no alpha layers.
    (Note: Some images like the cursor have their own secondary and third images that are used for alpha transperancies and color blends)
    Run tpl conv by gally.
    Select Read image and then select the bmp you just saved.
    If your image has a transparent color then select RGB5A3 and click on the color that is supposed to be transparent.
    If your image does not have any transparent sections then select RGB565.
    Click Save TPL
    Save the TPL with the name of the original image (example my_ComBtn_d.jpeg.bmp would be saved as my_ComBtn_d.tpl)
    Close TPLConv
    Run U8Pack by gally
    Select Open Archive and open the ash file that you decompressed (in example about that would be board.ash)
    You will get a directory and file listing showing the contents of the ash file. Scroll down to the timg directory and find and select the file you are replacing. They must be named identically.
    Now click add file and select the tpl you created with tplconv.
    It should prompt you to overwrite the file, if it doesn't exit the program, check your file naming and start u8pack from the beginning. If it does ask tell it yes. Then select create archive select the original .ash file you opened and hit save after a moment a box pops up confirming the file was created.
    Close any programs open from earlier steps.
    Run U8Tool this time choose the ... box next to archive folder and select the 000004x_app_OUT directory
    the only things selected should be delete any recursive "_out" folders before packing and regular archive header. anything else will cause corruption of system menu. Archive file should automatically fill out as 0000004x.app in the directory containing 000004x_app_OUT
    Press Pack... wait up to a minute. a box will pop up saying the app was created.
    Copy the app to sd and install with your prefered app installer.
    Reboot system.
    Enjoy change or make adjustments. If you want the original back just copy the original 4x.app i told you to put somewhere safe to sd and install it via app installer.
    Hope everyone can follow that. i've been sick the last 5 days now, meant to put this up sooner.

    Note you can use yaz0enc.exe to encode the .ash files and reduce their size to almost normal.

    I'll write up an advanced tutorial on the css/html/animation/sound changes later unless someone beats me to it.
     


  2. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I'll be waiting for the advanced tutorial Digity.
     
  3. acesniper

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    interesting
     
  4. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I wish someone made a list of what each was is when it's on the wii like the background.
     
  5. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    This mustve taken you forever to type, great work. Can't wait to try it out.
     
  6. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    How do you add transparency to your image? I have failed many times trying to do this>
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yeah, this is too simple and only a few lines...!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I'm waiting for the advanced because he going to tell us how to change sounds.
     
  9. digitydogs
    OP

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
     
  10. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    can you post a photo for this, I know I am being to tedious but there is only 2 or 3 buttons on TPL converter and I had no luck trying this..!! [​IMG]
     
  11. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
     
  12. digitydogs
    OP

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    How's this? The empty circle is where i clicked, the circled box show current transparent color, the circled option is required to use transparent color.
    [​IMG]
    Always exit the program after each tpl is made. It seems to glitch from time to time doing multiple images otherwise
    Sin Color alpha disables alpha color makes everything show.
     
  13. crwys

    Member crwys GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, and whats the "Sin Color Alpha" for?
     
  14. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Argh [​IMG] My computer is so crappy it can't run Ps CS3/4 [​IMG]

    I'll format this weekend and maybe it'll work [​IMG]
     
  15. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yay it worked...THANK YOU VERY MUCH AND I HOPE YOU HAVE A LONG LIFE AND LOTS OF KIDS; GOD BLESS YOU DD


    It is for disabling the alpha color, and I use to think it was for doing this, but aparently I need to let unmarked that option...!! [​IMG]
     
  16. bebs

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    is it possible to replace the wii menu background image yet.?
     
  17. Drihscol

    Member Drihscol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Australia
    i may sound like a noob, but i have searched, and searched downloads, and google etc etc etc, but where the hell do i find ash.exe?
     
  18. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
  19. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    First: many Thanks for that, this is something like the Holy Grail to me [​IMG].

    But I have still some questions left:

    1)From what I saw, Gimp can do exactly all what you done in Photoshop. And it's free...can't I realy use it?
    2)How can I not change the size of the Image? This is nearly impossible...more colors = more size, etc...?
    3)This problem here:
    [​IMG]
    (Klick on it)
    Is it ok if I put a png-Layer over the Alpha-Color Layer and then merge them? Normaly, it will look bad, but it looks for me Nintendo have done it so...

    Hope you'll find the time to answer, many Thanks in Advance [​IMG].
     
  20. Drihscol

    Member Drihscol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    Australia
    since the program uses jpegs, you cant have transparancy. so put a backround colour that isnt used in the image, like blue, and set that as the transparent colour. to get softer edges, all you have to do is sort of blur the edges, not so it mixes with the backround colour, so it blurs with white. it will look better.
    oh and thnx mercluke.
     

Share This Page