How to hack PSP 3001

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Technik, Jul 2, 2009.

Jul 2, 2009

How to hack PSP 3001 by Technik at 2:37 AM (48,911 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    My psp was used so i didn't suspect it was 3001 but i found out so its time for another nooby topic!

    How can I hack my PSP 3001? I have seen vids of hacking 3000's but im not sure if it is the same for my 3001, AND im not sure whats the most recent.
     


  2. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    ChickHEN and CFE 3.50 and this will ONLY work on 5.03 so you can't update past that firmware. Also no trying to flash the PSP with another firmware or you will brick it also don't try manually theming the PSP (use CXMB if you want to change the theme) or you will lose the ability to load up ChickHEN and CFE.
     
  3. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    And where can i download those for my psp 3001?
     
  4. Gibble

    Newcomer Gibble Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    well in a nutshell I think it goes like this
    1 you need to be running OFW 5.03
    2 get chickhen R2
    3 stick those files onto your memory stick in PSP/PHOTO/
    4 get CFWEnabler 3.50
    5 stick that in /PSP/GAME/
    6 turn on PSP with memory stick in it browse to your photos let the chickhen images load and reset psp (I geuss this can take a couple of times... sometimes)
    7 once it resets if you check your firmware it'll say 5.03 hen or something like that ... i forget
    8 goto games and load up cfwenabler run that and then you are done

    this doesn't permanently install the cfw onto the psp so don't do a full shutdown

    also you might want to double check with more ppl but that's how I did it with my psp 2000... and read the README s they help

    edit:
    files can be found with google
     
  5. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    As an alternative, you could use 5.03 GEN-A. However, from what I've heard, CFE is a better firmware. If you installed 5.03 GEN-A before though, you can't install CFE or POPS won't work.
     
  6. xboxrules

    Member xboxrules GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    long story short... son's friend has a silver psp-3001 serial # starts with HU111. The power light comes on but nothing else, no screen no audio... My searching had hopes for pandora but the more I looked the less likely it seems. The friend was assumably trying to play MLB09 The Show and it "didn't load" (his words), he thought it might have needed a bigger memory card so bought a 4gb but when he turned it on the acreen was black and the green light stays on (classic brick actions from my reading).. Any ideas or helpful hints?
     
  7. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If it is bricked the only way to fix it is send it to Sony there is no other way to fix a bricked 3000/TA-088v3.
     
  8. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Whats CFE?
     
  9. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  10. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Last nooby PSP question.

    How can i play psx games and psp back ups on my psp because i used CFE and chickhen like you said and now i can use homebrew but I'm wondering just exactly what to do for back ups because alot of the stuff i find doesn't specify if it works on my 3001 or not.
     
  11. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    BUMP

    help!
     
  12. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CFE can run psp backups, just put them on your memory stick in the designated folder.

    Not sure what you have to do to get psx backups though, I haven't even bothered doing that for M33 firmware.
     
  13. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah as Law said just place your backup PSP games (ISO / CSO files) in a folder called ISO in the root of the Memory Stick. I'm also not sure about how to play PSX backups though.
     
  14. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    To play PSX backups, you must convert them first. Then, just stick their folder (the folder will have one file - EBOOT.PBP) into the GAME folder and run.
     
  15. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    thanks
     
  16. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Pandora will fix it, I had a similar problem. Not sure if it works on the 3000 though, if it does use it, if it doesn't, FFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU.
     
  17. mhkwong

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok. sorry to high jack this thread. but how do you uninstall 5.03 GEN-A then? i cant get Chickhen r2 to run now either.... tried like 30-40times....
     
  18. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Pandora doesnt work on PSP3000. [​IMG]
     
  19. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think you can uninstall 5.03 GEN-A. And to get ChickHEN to load, make sure the screen brightness is on the dimmest setting, the theme is original or classic, and that you don't have a custom background. Resetting your settings also fixes things apparently. Once that's done, I keep quickly scrolling in and out of the folder, and up and down rapidly. 60% of the time, it works every time. (+1 if you can figure out the movie reference there!)
     
  20. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The sensible thing would have been to backup your flash0 before writing any of the CFE or GEN-A files into it. You could go in and manually delete them but it's generally not encouraged to make changes to your flash0 if you don't know exactly what's been done to it.

    Delete egghunt.bin and try again with the Hen.
     

Share This Page