how to fix "ERROR: Could not initialize USB subsystem (ret = -1)&

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by MertenNor, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. MertenNor
    OP

    Member MertenNor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Norway
    hey

    if you are getting: "ERROR: Could not initialize USB subsystem (ret = -1)" your USB may stil work..

    1. plug in a usb pen that is working for the USB loader.

    2. wate for the loader to ask if you want to format the drive.

    3. talke out the usb thats working and insert the usb drive that you are getting error on.

    4. continue the tutorial from step 13. here: http://wehackwii.pbwiki.com/Tutorial+-+USB+Loader+v1


    if you still get: "ERROR: Could not initialize USB subsystem (ret = -1)" wen you are trying to run the loader with your formated usb drive you will need to do:

    1. do step 1 to 2 in my previous post.

    2. press A.

    3. press B and now you can use your USB device as normal [​IMG]

    I know this isent the best way to use the Loader but it works.. [​IMG]

    MertenNor
    PS. sorry for my bad english [​IMG]
     


  2. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a slight problem with this theory,once you have got your hdd recognised and have managed to put a game on the drive as soon as you reboot the Wii there will be no way of seeing the drive again.I know because I've tried it with a drive that would not be recognised but would with a "hotswap",once I rebooted it just gives the -1 error again but this time the "hotswap" trick wont work
     
  3. MertenNor
    OP

    Member MertenNor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Norway
    if you do the secent pard there.. 1 to 3 it wil work..

    I do it all the time..

    MertenNor
    PS. sorry for my bad english
     
  4. nigelwhittaker

    Newcomer nigelwhittaker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    narr, don't work, good theory, but don't work
     
  5. MertenNor
    OP

    Member MertenNor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Norway
    ?? it works for me all the time..

    do I need to make a youtube vid ore something to show you ppl that it works ??

    MertenNor
     
  6. guywhatever

    Newcomer guywhatever Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    When I have my 500gb hard drive hooked to the Wii (The drive has an external PSU btw) and turn the USB Loader on, it stays at the screen for a few seconds then shows the USB subsystem (ret = -1) error so I can't even get the loader to format the drive at all. I've formated the drive on my computer and it STILL won't see the drive no matter what I try.
     
  7. MertenNor
    OP

    Member MertenNor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Norway
    you need to have a notter usb pen/drive that the loader supports and then wate for the "press A to format window" ( read tutorial ) ( it can still be a drive with stuff on it like mine [​IMG] )

    MertenNor
     
  8. bigbuttbot

    Newcomer bigbuttbot Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    You just made me a first-time poster good sir! I just had to confirm that this actually worked for me, too!

    My 4GB Kingston stick was working, whereas my 16GB cnMemory stick wasn't. As instructed, I also swapped them before you're asked to confirm formatting with the A-button. Worked like a charm!

    Thank you very much MertenNor! Unconventional, but it gets the job done...

    ta-ta
     
  9. guywhatever

    Newcomer guywhatever Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried this and all it does is stay there at a black screen after I hit A after swapping.. I really wanted to use my 500gb drive too =(
     
  10. Skiller

    Member Skiller GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    I had the -1 Issue only when using Drives that State there USB2 but there not actual there USB2 but not Highspeed USB2.. if that makes Sence at all [​IMG]

    the Drives that Say USB2 HighSpeed and State that they run the HighSpeed Seem to be working right ..
     
  11. guywhatever

    Newcomer guywhatever Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to put in a little bit of help there, one fix for some non-functioning USB devices (like my Integral 2GB) is simply to have the power turned off before plugging it in. For some reason, that made it work, and now I've got several games running off it (real Zelda TP, backup Super Paper Mario) although SSX Wii still didn't work (from backup).

    When I get my external HDD (like everybody is) I'll put all my WiiSOs on it for a more thorough test.
     
  13. guywhatever

    Newcomer guywhatever Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States

    Have the power turned off to the external before plugging it into the wii?
     
  14. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i get this with my seagate i have to switch it off at the plug power the wii on the power the drive on and its good to go untill the wii powers down again. its just a case of remebering to switch the drive off with the wii and back on after the wii.

    its probably possible to take a 5v trigger from the other usb slot and incorperate a relay/switch inlinewith the drive power cord
     
  15. Rivaplz

    Newcomer Rivaplz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Western Digital My Book Home Edition 320 GB (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=354). Swapping doesn't work, powering off until the Wii has started doesn't work, sucking my thumb in the corner while I cry doesn't work. Hopefully there is a larger range of hardware supported with the next version.
     
  16. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lmfao...bet its a power thing as nearly every WD Drive seems to work,my WD 250 beves wouldnt work in an external case that had its own power supply,I bought a Small external case today that is USB powered and its working great.
     
  17. yumms

    Member yumms GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get this. My 1 gb drive was recognized...8 gb was not.

    I took out 1gb drive, put in 8gb one (followed step 3). Chose to format the 8gb drive, then to install Mario Kart...got a crash dump.

    Now both my 1gb and 8gb drives are not recognized.
     
  18. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I have a sneaking suspicion something happened when I did the "safe" upgrade to 4.0 (I needed moar tracks for RB2) because it worked before with an 8GB USB thumbdrive from Microcenter, and now I get error -6.
     
  19. Indie

    Newcomer Indie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, this doesn't work. When I make the switch and hit A to format, the black box just goes blank.
     
  20. nanashi

    Newcomer nanashi Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    This worked for me. Sony 2gb Microvault Thumbsticks didnt work (gave ret = -6), but I managed to get a hold of an 8gb one that did. When it asked me if I wanted to format, I swaped the sticks. It showed the partition list (1.88gb, a good sign). After the successful format was off, I reaccessed the stick to see if it would still be recognized, and sure enough it was. The test game (Monster Hunter tri-al) runs great, too.
     

Share This Page