How to fix an imported Wii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by R2DJ, Jun 4, 2008.

Jun 4, 2008

How to fix an imported Wii... by R2DJ at 5:55 PM (1,537 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK so my friends came from the Philippines. They bought a Wii there along with backup games. Now they brought it with them on the way home to London. Things work fine, except for the fact that the Wii Settings is inaccessible. When I try to go to it, it shows an error message in the form of a web page!

    http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/2858/cimg0001ei9.jpg

    That is the error screen that comes up (I didn't take this screenshot, but it looks similar. Replace EUR with JPN)...

    I've done a research about it and it is a semi-brick. How? They bought a game that's not Japanese - MP3: Corruption. The EUR firmware was installed when they first inserted the disc.

    How can I revert it back to normal? I don't wanna play Mario Kart Wii in their house in 50Hz [​IMG]

    Additional notes:

    They are not that wealthy so I wouldn't recommend them to buy an actual European Wii.
    When the firmware from Metroid got installed, they are not able to play their backup games anymore.
    I wouldn't want to mess around with the insides of a Wii console (but I'm pretty certain a modchip is installed in there...)
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
  3. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    european firmware shouldnt be installed onto a different continent wii...

    it doesnt work that way lol. are you saying he has a chipped wii so he can play backup games? if so then he shouldnt have installed an update from a european game backup or original...
     
  4. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I knew it! Thanks...I'm gonna tell them that.

    Now how do I downlo... [​IMG]
     
  5. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oy, just download JAP version from the site and burn it. Insert it into wii and press start. Let it update. [​IMG]
     
  6. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So JPN Wii is NTSC and the TV set is PAL. When I switch it back to the JPN firmware (3.2J), will the TV go black and white?

    Also, they recently bought a legit PAL Mario kart Wii and it installed the firmware the first time they played it. When I set the firmware to Japanese and play the MKWii again, will it install the EUR firmware?
     
  7. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for bumping but the links to the .rar files don't work in the link given by raulpica. Does anyone know other sources where I can download these?
     
  8. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    google it
     
  9. apd

    Member apd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    if everyone googled everything it would boring
     
  10. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was asking .rar firmware files, not WinRAR. No probs as I have downloaded them from another source.
     

Share This Page