Hacking How to change Wii U software internal resolution?

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
Hi to all!, thanks for reading! I opened this thread to ask about Wii U Software internal resolution, how to change it by any other one...
If you don't understand what i'm saying exactly I will put an example:
We have New Super Mario Bros U, according to Digital Foundry it runs at native 1280x720, now I would like to change that resolution to another one, let's say 1920x1080, how can I do that?

Of course It's not possible legally, we need to look into the internal files of the game, I have asked this before and this is all the information I have:

It's all in coding, you basically need to find the floats that specify the resolution in the program's RPX (or at least that's how Matt did it with all his TCPGecko stuff).

So, If I understand correctly he says that the Resolution stuff is in the game .rpx (I'm using Nintendo Land, not NSMBU, that was just an example, but I think all games .rpx have the resolution stuff in the same place)

Nah, that's different, you need to use Dumpiine to get it from your console and then you can disassemble it (or try digging through memory to try to find it, I wouldn't be the one to ask how to locate it). You might be able to patch the one RPL that handles TV output

RPLs are from OSv11 (7th down), basically all the dynamically linked libraries you can call, Cafiine patches FS functions in coreinit so theoretically you can patch anything that's loaded. Also, yes, games have to set their own resolution and framerate, that's why Mario Kart 8 and Splatoon are 720p60 whereas others can handle 1080p

Yeah, I can try to dig up the topic.

I didn't understand very well this part, but it seems we can also edit the frame rate of a game!
I extracted OSv11 from Nintendo servers and got a lot of .rpl files, including the graphics one like gx2.rpl and coreinit.rpl, but I don't have any idea what to do with them :( ...

Nah, you need to use TCPGecko to find the address it's at and then patch it at launch. Also yes, that's what I've been using for a while. You can use UWizard to download the title


That's all the information I have about this, I tried a lot but i can't do anything, maybe someone that has a lot better skills than me can help with this :)
 
Last edited by Goku Junior,

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
Thanks for your answer!, I'm currently downloading Cafe SDK 2.13.12, I now have rpl2elf.exe, I just need
makerpl64.exe!
A now going to the IDA part... I tried that before but it doesn't work, IDA doesn't even recognize Wii U's rpx/rpl files... (Yes, I'm using @aerosoul94 Wii u loader, but it doesn't work for me)
Here is a screenshot: Sin título.png

And if I force IDA to open the .rpx file it will show a lot of errors and finally will say this:0sin titulo 2.png

I think the IDA Wii U Loader is installed fine: Sin títuloida.png

What's wrong :( ...? Thanks for reading!
 

Kakkoii

Old fart
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
586
Country
Canada
Thanks for your answer!, I'm currently downloading Cafe SDK 2.13.12, I now have rpl2elf.exe, I just need
makerpl64.exe!
A now going to the IDA part... I tried that before but it doesn't work, IDA doesn't even recognize Wii U's rpx/rpl files... (Yes, I'm using @aerosoul94 Wii u loader, but it doesn't work for me)
Here is a screenshot:View attachment 40031

And if I force IDA to open the .rpx file it will show a lot of errors and finally will say this:View attachment 40032

I think the IDA Wii U Loader is installed fine: View attachment 40033

What's wrong :( ...? Thanks for reading!
Use rpl2elf and open the elf with the IDA.
makerrpl64 will be in the sdk.
 

Kakkoii

Old fart
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
586
Country
Canada
That would need rework the textures because all the assets are fixed in a certain resolution, no?
Textures are sampled for each pixel on the screen that lay over the piece of geometry that has that texture. A texture that is the same size on screen at 720p isn't going to look any blurrier being the same size on a 1080p screen, in fact, due to sampling quality increase, it will look slightly better.
It's when you want to make better use of that resolution, or scale up or look closer at a texture in a game that you want higher resolution textures for those assets. But regardless, simply rendering the game at a higher resolution will reduce the aliasing (jaggies) around rendered geometry, which is a good enough benefit itself.

So while it helps to have higher res textures to take advantage of the higher resolution, it is not needed.
 
Last edited by Kakkoii,

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
Use rpl2elf and open the elf with the IDA.
makerrpl64 will be in the sdk.
OK, so I converted the RPX file to .elf , IDA now launches it (With some errors, but it shows data), It asked me if I should use it like a PPC type or a binary one, I choose PPC since the Wii U CPU is PPC (I Hope it is right)
This is IDA now: Sin título.png
What should I do now? :)

EDIT: I think the thing is fine, I searched the word "Nintendo" and find some text related from Nintendo SDK :D (However no luck in the resolution part...)
 
Last edited by Goku Junior,

Kakkoii

Old fart
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
586
Country
Canada
OK, so I converted the RPX file to .elf , IDA now launches it (With some errors, but it shows data), It asked me if I should use it like a PPC type or a binary one, I choose PPC since the Wii U CPU is PPC (I Hope it is right)
This is IDA now: View attachment 40047
What should I do now? :)

EDIT: I think the thing is fine, I searched the word "Nintendo" and find some text related from Nintendo SDK :D (However no luck in the resolution part...)
You didn't install the WiiU IDA plugin properly then, a "Wii U" option should show up when you choose to open the file. Launch the 32bit version of IDA, not 64bit. And the .ldw file should be in C:\Program Files (x86)\IDA 6.5\loaders\
 

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
You didn't install the WiiU IDA plugin properly then, a "Wii U" option should show up when you choose to open the file. Launch the 32bit version of IDA, not 64bit. And the .ldw file should be in C:\Program Files (x86)\IDA 6.5\loaders\
Hm, the wiiu.ldw is in "C:\Program Files (x86)\IDA 6.8\loaders", I think it is correctly installed, however I was lauching the 64Bit version all the time, I will try with 32bit now...
EDIT: Are you reffering at this, right?Sin título.png @Kakkoii
 
Last edited by Goku Junior,

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
Yep that option.
OK!, It seems now it's all working correctly!, however I didn't find anything about the resolution of the game, I tried to search by the terms "720" "1280" or even writing "Resolution" but I didn't found anything :( , Curiously I searched for "Nintendo" and this was all I found: Sin título.png
Do you know where to search the resolution part? (I think we are pretty near of it :) )
 

Kakkoii

Old fart
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
586
Country
Canada
OK!, It seems now it's all working correctly!, however I didn't find anything about the resolution of the game, I tried to search by the terms "720" "1280" or even writing "Resolution" but I didn't found anything :( , Curiously I searched for "Nintendo" and this was all I found: View attachment 40079
Do you know where to search the resolution part? (I think we are pretty near of it :) )
GX2SetTVScale ,GX2CalcTVSize, GX2SetTVBuffer are the functions you want to look at, most likely the first one. But tbh I think this is far beyond the scope of your modding knowledge considering the types of questions you've had to ask and problems faced already. IDA won't modify the file for you. It's beyond my scope too, so you'd have to ask someone else.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Goku Junior

Goku Junior

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
XP
492
Country
Argentina
GX2SetTVScale ,GX2CalcTVSize, GX2SetTVBuffer are the functions you want to look at, most likely the first one. But tbh I think this is far beyond the scope of your modding knowledge considering the types of questions you've had to ask and problems faced already. IDA won't modify the file for you. It's beyond my scope too, so you'd have to ask someone else.
OK!, thanks for all! I will check these functions!, I know little to nothing about all of this, but I really want to change these things for fun and to see how the console reacts to these changes (FPS drops, better resolution with less jaggies and all of that), thanks again! and I hope someone with more skills try to help us so we can finally get this working! :) .

EDIT: By the way, I found this!
Sin título.png

EDIT2: I was searching in internet for the Rendering values and I have found this!: Sin título.png
 
Last edited by Goku Junior,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ that guy seriously spent over 2 grand on that hot wheels pc?
    +1
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    LTT is a noob
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Guy doesnt know wtf hes talking about half the time
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ that reminds me that my friend sells CRTs he gets cheap or free for hundreds of dollars. people are dumb
    +1
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    And is incredibly annoying.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    man I just washed my shoes and they look exactly the same as before I washed them :|
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    luckily they didn't fall apart
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Some CRTs are very much worth the price
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    i used to go out to the recycling center every couple weeks and look at the crts and other electronics people would drop off. Usually screens were broken or severely scratched from being tossed around. Did find a good one here and there, but never anything like a 1080i widescreen crt.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Or a good contition 40" Sony Trini that weighs 300 lbs. lol
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Literally 300 lbs. lolol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have a few of those boat anchors in my basement I tried giving away but no one wanted them, So anyone close to Columbus, Ohio area that wants them, (26", 2x 19") please come get, for free.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Dont know anyone wants those smaller ones. Most are after larger sizes and the kinda top of the line models
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Motion handling and input lag on those things destroy plasmas, led, oled
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    I had some really nice CRTs I should've kept
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    now I have all lcd
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    one in particular I regret getting rid of oh well :|
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    the Sonys and stuff I don't care about
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    and used LCD are hard to sell I can imagine.. not worth much
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ where do u lurk
  • a_username_that_isnt_cool @ a_username_that_isnt_cool:
    Is it piracy if it was released for free? Not in my opinion, but I also think it's not piracy if buying it isn't owning it, and it's not piracy if you can't buy it from the original creators anymore.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Free release can have loopholes where they still make money through ads
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: :sad: