How to auto boot from the Revocery menu?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by opac, Oct 24, 2009.

Oct 24, 2009
  1. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hi,

    I recently got my Wii bricked from the 4.2 update (error 003 with Korean wii), but I can still get into the recovery menu with the GC controller in 4th slot.

    Now my question is how do I manage to boot from the recovery menu so I can get the error fixed and get to play my games again either by reinstalling Homebrew or getting it changed so I dont get the Error 003.

    I am a completely newbie when it comes to all this, so any help is greatly appreciative.
     


  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Did you region change to the US??

    Because you should be able with a modchip or the diagnostic disc check off before starting this to be able to fix your Wii by running smashstack from a US Brawl version. Load Loadmii and you can run any .dol or .elf so you have Homebrew back essentially.
     
  3. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark
    After the update the region did change to US, as it says in the recovery menu 4.2 (US) I just need to know how to go from there
     
  4. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, what you want to do is have the stacksmash on the SD card if you have a US version of Brawl (DVD9) burnt or legit (burnt has to be with a drivekey, legit has to have the diagnostic disc check off or a drivekey [or most modchips]) and then you can load the game, go to the stage editor, it will run Loadmii, choose the SD card as the location or wherever you have .dol files and then load TBR so you can get the trucha bug on your Wii (skip that if you already have) and then run the WAD Manager under a trucha bugged IOS. Enjoy.

    I think we have confirmation drivekey fully works but I can't test it yet, likely gonna buy one soon.
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    i have an extra one i can let go for cheap!
    fully working
    save you a lot a $
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously?? Sounds pretty cool, take this to PM's?? I got cash lol so yeah, I'd have to send it in the mail lol. Might take a bit but yeah.
     
  7. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Just so you know, the USA version of SSBB won't autoboot unless you've disabled the diagnostic disc check with preloader or startpatch. Until that's resolved somehow you're out of luck.
     
  8. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I heard from this post

    by xzxero that drivekey does that for you. I'm gonna test it out myself very soon as well.
     
  9. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark

    I also got SSBB, but I think its a burned copy from the USA version. Is there anyway to get preloader or startpatch to work from the Rescue Menu?
     
  10. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark
    My problem is basicly that I hoped that you would be able to solve the error 003 if you could access the rescue menu (which I can) my problem is just that I really have no idea how I go from there; how do I get anything booted from the rescue menu and how do I fix the error 003 from there?

    I only got to play my Wii for 2 days before it bricked and it would be a sorry waste of money if its not solveable
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Nopes. You see, you need to autoboot a disc and run homebrew from it to do that. But to autoboot SSBB you need preloader/startpatch. See the conundrum?
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I know it's possible with the StartPatch hacks in place. I've done it a number of times on 4.1u
     
  13. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I know its possible with preloader/startpatch hacks in place, doing it every day lol. And according to xzxero, its possible with drivekey as well. This would be huge, he said he's autobooted it with no hacks in place. I wanna test this out.
     
  14. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark

    So how would you go about unbricking the Error 003?
     
  15. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Use the WAD Manager to either try Da_Letter_A's fix for the system menu or IOS70

    OR

    Downgrade to 4.1.
     
  16. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark

    Ok, another newbie question. If I am able to create an auto boot disc (still dont know how) how do I either use the above things you listed or downgrade?

    Please pardon my ignorance, but I am absolutely clueless when it comes to all this, but I greatly appreciate the help!
     
  17. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    For now, you don't.
     
  18. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Lemme test this out more when I get a drivekey honestly. People don't buy them if you have the 003 error or something yet....
     
  19. opac
    OP

    Newcomer opac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Denmark

    Fuck, so I have to go get a new Wii?
     
  20. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Lemme test this out first, Nintendo should fix it for you if you need it likely. Likely just 85 bucks, obviously warranty isn't active.
     

Share This Page