How the hell do I update with no internet?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by drakorex, Nov 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Nov 23, 2012
  1. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a poor bastard with other things that I have to spend my money on rather than internet service. So if I were to take my WiiU up to Mcdonalds, would I be able to see everything I need to on the gamepad to update, or do I need to invest in a small monitor? I have an easycap, but I never been able to get it set up right.
     


  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have a mobile phone unlimited plan on your tariff you could always tether a connection to your wii u and update that way, i just don't see brining a $300+ console to a public place practical at all, how are you going to get power to the wii u console when you are in mc donnalds? have you thought about that?
     
  3. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    They have these things called outlets. See, what you do is you plug the two pronged chord of your device into the two holed outlet, and electricity flows through your device, bringing it to life! It's a far out concept, I know...
     
    fossda, gloweyjoey and 10_0ARMY like this.
  4. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    FYI dude, you're a fucking dick. If you do that, with that kind of attitude I hope you get robbed of your WiiU.

    McDonalds near me, they don't have outlets for customers to use. There's none.
     
    Eighteen and jax604 like this.
  5. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Well not all Mcdonalds are created equal, I guess. I suppose that I didn't stop to consider that there are those that don't realize that. I am so sorry. And everyone is entitled to their opinion. If anyone has a useful opinion, please don't hesitate to let me know. :)
     
  6. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question. How are you making posts here? McDonalds?
     
  7. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Ya got me.
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Except he did. He said if you have a phone, tether it.
     
  9. HaTaX

    Member HaTaX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    No need for an extra monitor wherever you go, as long as you have the gamepad you can navigate the screens. Just be aware when it updates the gamepad itself (part of the update process) it will go blank for a few while it does its thing. Might want to try a Panera really, they always have tons of outlets in the dining area and it's a little less hectic, last time I use McD's Wifi I had to go out to the play area to get an outlet... :\
     
  10. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Well if I did that, ShadowSoldier,then I would have internet, wouldn't I?

    Thanks, HaTaX, I appreciate the insight. My only other concern is the download time for the update. I've heard of some taking around 3 hours to download it. Is this with a high speed connection? Sometimes I can download at 300kbps, other times it slows to a crawl.

    My worry is about Mcdonalds having a 2 hour kick off time with their internet. Don't want to sit up here for 2 hours when it takes 3 to download, only to brick my wiiu because of a lost connection.
     
  11. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Does WiiU had ability to connect over proxy ?

    I mean most mcdonalds I've visit they use this thing called chillispot or something like that
    they didn't protect their network with wpe/wpa/wpa2 and other protocol things

    so it's open network, but you have to ask their username & password to be able to log on to their network.
    I've tried with DSi, it failed since it has no ability to do it
    Blackberry & android had no problem with this.

    so... you can't afford Internet but WiiU is ok?
    How about asking store to update it for you
    usually they also do this update things for free, since you buy things from them.

    But then again, was wondering what is the point to update if you had no internet connection either?
    is there any games required new firmware version or something like that?
     
  12. HaTaX

    Member HaTaX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    That's a good concern, 2 hours should be more than enough time to complete it on a reasonable connection, but I'd have that thought in the back of my head once I started it as you can't cancel it... Another good place to try would be your local library, many of them offer free wifi and you should be able to find a plug there. I don't think they have logins or time limits either so you should be set there, give them a call and ask if they offer it and such.
     
  13. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard that the WiiU downloads the update in the background if you're connected to the internet. Once it finishes you won't have to be connected to update it. With that being said you could go to MCDonalds have it download the update. (Reconnect if you disconnect if it takes two hours.) Then update. I'm not sure how it'll notify you it's done downloading the update, but if you go home and it says there's an update. Then it finished downloading it.

    EDIT: Here. http://www.nintendolife.com/news/2012/11/wii_u_system_update_can_be_downloaded_in_the_background
     
    pelago likes this.
  14. PizzaPino

    Member PizzaPino GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    El Salvador
    why dont you just go to friends and do it there?
    and i dont know if you need the update if you can't even use the internet functions?
     
  15. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Don't some games, some non internet applications and even wii mode require/benefit from updating? From what I read wii mode don't work straight out the box. Also might try the system transfer. Anyone know if you have to update the wii to make it work and if so, does it try to thwart any present or future homebrew?
     
  16. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you have to do the day 1 update to get Wii mode.
     
    pelago likes this.
  17. matt1tude

    Member matt1tude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Crewe, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i find that having to have an internet connection to do the day 1 update is rather ridiculous. there are people out there without an internet connection. I would've thought the update would be bundled on the launch game discs or a separate disc in the box. I think that's a bit narrow minded on Nintendo's part, automatically presuming their customers have an internet connection.
     
  18. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    lol taking a wii u to update at Mcdonalds id love to see that
     
    jalaneme likes this.
  19. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,578
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    Yeah, that would be the best way to do it. But the thing is the update might not have been ready in time for them to ship out discs to all the stores in time for launch, and it certainly wasn't ready when the Wii U's were produced, so they couldn't put it in the box either.

    For the EU launch it's a different thing, they have had the update ready for long enough to ship discs worldwide, even to countries with notoriously slow post service, like most of Asia.
     
  20. Pleng

    Member Pleng GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,449
    Country:
    Thailand
    I don't get it. You're a poor bastard with other things to spend your money on than an internet connection.... but you've just bought a WiiU?
     
    2ndApex, jalaneme and megazig like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page