How safe is installing wads?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kedest, Aug 23, 2008.

Aug 23, 2008

How safe is installing wads? by kedest at 1:03 AM (4,620 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've never tried installing wads before yet. But now I'm thinking about trying it, because there are some nice Wiiware games out there.
    How safe exactly is it (using wadmanager 1.1) ? Is the installation process safe and stable, or are there still risks of bricking?
     


  2. darkhawk

    Newcomer darkhawk Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Iv installed alot of wads and the worst thats happend is a failed install or the channel didnt work (diff region) . Aslong as the WADs your installing are safe (dont have bad banners etc) then im sure the risk is minimal.
     
  3. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Same goes for me. I've installed/uninstalled 15+ WADs with nos problem. Like darkhawk said, the worst that can happen is a failed install (I had this once but it didn't install it. It just told me an error and then it rebooted safely.) or the channel didn't work.
     
  4. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I've installed 5 or so, and uninstalled one, and my Wii works fine [​IMG]
     
  5. Christen

    Member Christen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Canada
    Just don't power off your Wii while the WADs are installing, and only download your WADs from a trusted source and you should be good to go.
     
  6. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is there any way to check if the banner is okay and things like that?
     
  7. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Ask around, so far I had no bad wads! [​IMG] Just be careful with random wads, if its a torrent, look for the one with the most seeds and peers and good comments and thanks.

    The only way to unbrick a bad banner is through Starfall or with a modchip.
     
  8. Chaorain

    Newcomer Chaorain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Are you kidding? This thing is completely idiot proof. Just make sure you have room on your Wii. Even if you forget your Wii will yell at you for room, I just ignore it for the moment then uninstall the wad, THEN make extra Room. Oh yeah if the banner is bad on the wad the Wii freezes then you just reboot.
     
  9. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    One time I accidentally installed more than the room I had available. I was worried that I might've overwritten something important, but nothing bad happened ^^;;

    That's the worst I can really think of :/
     
  10. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    Heard of banner-brick?
     
  11. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well I'll be installing Wiiware games only and no injected VC-games so there the banners should be OK.
    Thanks for the replies, I'm now confident it's safe.
     
  12. Chaorain

    Newcomer Chaorain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    I thought banner-brick meant that the Wii would not load past the health screen when you first load up the Wii.
     
  13. littlestevie

    Member littlestevie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    under a bridge
    Country:
    Australia
    no its worse then that, you need to load an autoboot disk of the wadmanager and uninstall the wad (if you are on 3.2 or below) or autoboot of zelda and uninstall with the wad manager thru the TP hack... of course if you are on 3.3 and havent got the TP hack installed you are SOL until betwiin comes out and that will still be a lot of work
     
  14. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Rebooting will not fix a banner brick.
     
  15. Chaorain

    Newcomer Chaorain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Then we are talking about different stuff. I've never had a banner brick.
     
  16. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    As long as you install scene released WADs, and not one that some random jerk sent you, you'll be fine... I've installed roughly 30 WADs (as well as uninstalling them) and never had a problem!

    Just make sure your downloading them from a good torrent site, or website that you trust.

    If you "banner brick" your Wii, you'll have to buy a mod chip to fix it. You have to modify a Zelda ISO to autoboot so it bypasses the menu, pray you still have the TP hack save installed, and run a wad uninstaller.
     
  17. truballr

    Member truballr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    This is how i make sure I dont get a banner brick.

    Fill up the first page on the system menu with channels that are fine, so that way if you install a channel, it will be on the second page, and if its a banner brick channel just reboot the wii, go on the first page and remove that wad. EZ
     
  18. 2short

    Member 2short GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    in the northern cold...
    Country:
    Denmark
    it's probably been discussed before; but does nintendo have some sort of online detection? will they be able to see modified stuff?
     
  19. truballr

    Member truballr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    I think they can see homebrew through the Nintendo Channel, but so what if they can. They can lick my ballz for all i care
     
  20. a3HeadedMonkey

    Newcomer a3HeadedMonkey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What would happen if you installed a wad that was for the wrong region? Is it possible to brick your console this way?
     

Share This Page