How does RAM pack work?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by CrisR82, Mar 26, 2011.

Mar 26, 2011

How does RAM pack work? by CrisR82 at 12:41 AM (639 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. CrisR82
    OP

    Newcomer CrisR82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Not sure if this is fo the acessories section, but seems like every post there is about flash cards so I'll post it here just in case.

    My question is: does the RAM expansion (the one included with the DS Browser) influence games? I mean if I leave it in while using my flash card (M3DS Real v2), would it improve preformance in games or while viewing videos (does it help MoonShell's perfoamance)?

    Some games like The Sims 3 seem laggy at times, will the RAM pack improve it? Or will Castlevania Portrait of Ruin un withought crashing?

    And finally, can someone list me all the uses for the RAM pack outside of the DS Browser?

    Thanks for reading/commenting.
     
  2. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    To answer the title: magic. Pure magic.

    To the actual post: No, it won't improve just any old game, or general performance of your flash cart. It will only improve the games / programs that are told to access it. The official browser, along with many of hte homebrew ones (to my knowledge) are examples of such.

    I believe that DSlinux supports it, and recommends that you have it, as well as DSx86. Don't quote me on that, though, I could be wrong.

    Man, where would this forum be without me?
     
  3. CrisR82
    OP

    Newcomer CrisR82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    That's sort've sad to hear I guess.
    Well, guess it's not really worth much then.

    I guess QuakeDS and Quake 2 are the highlight of the RAM pack.
    Still, if anyone knows any other apps/games that use it, being homebrew or commercial, or any other use for it (in the console that is), do let me know.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    I think there's also a windows app that sort of acts like windows xp that requires the extra ram. Can't remember what it's called though.
     

Share This Page