How does PSP recognize save?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by henrytlh, Jan 18, 2012.

Jan 18, 2012
  1. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Situation 1:
    I have SAVE 1(ULUS10505000) and SAVE 2(ULUS10505001) for the game Kingdom Hearts:BBS on my PSP. I downloaded another save called (ULUS10505001) from the internet.
    So to prevent overlapping, I renamed the save I downloaded to ULUS10505002.
    PSP recognize
    Slot 1:SAVE 1
    Slot 2:SAVE 2
    Slot 3:save I downloaded(corrupted)

    Situation 2:
    I delete SAVE 2 and renamed the save I downloaded to ULUS10505001.
    PSP RECOGNIZE
    Slot 1:SAVE 1
    Slot 2:The save i downloaded

    Situation 3:
    I renamed SAVE 2 to ULUS10505002 so it's in slot 3 now. I copied the save file I downloaded over.
    PSP RECOGNIZE
    Slot 1:SAVE 1
    Slot 2:save I downloaded(corrupted)
    Slot 3:SAVE 2(corrupted)

    Conclusion from situation 2:The save is not corrupted.
    Conclusion from situation 1+3:The slot of the save DOES matter.
    EDIT---
    OVERALL CONCLUSION:When you save a game to a slot, part of the slot info is saved to. So if you want to change the slot of your save by renaming e.g "ULUS10505001" to "ULUS10505000", it won't work.

    Found out by testing myself :)
     
  2. jomkingal

    Newcomer jomkingal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    C:\
    Country:
    United States
    haha! in short, you can't rename folder name of the save files. :) nice info!
     
  3. Etrius

    Newcomer Etrius Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Max Pwnage HQ
    Country:
    United States
    The "ULUS code" or whatever it's called, identifies the game. So if you change the code it will either be recognized as a different game, or not even recognized at all.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    saves sometimes add a slot-number to the folder name.
    but often the slot number is also hardcoded, so the save will apear corrupt when you move it to a different slot.
     
  5. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    i had savegames created under FW 5.5 GEN-D not recognized under FW 5.0, so it's not just about the directory name.
     

Share This Page