How does CIOScorp work?!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by BillandAlisha, Jul 1, 2009.

Jul 1, 2009

How does CIOScorp work?! by BillandAlisha at 1:23 AM (3,500 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. BillandAlisha
    OP

    Member BillandAlisha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Does it trick the Wii thinking that it's indeed an original game? If I do install this CIOScorp will I have any need for the backup loader? Also I have read that CIOScorp is a nasty thing to install...why or why not is this?

    If it's a noob question let the flaming begin
     


  2. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes because Cioscorp writes over all the orginal ios's and makes cios's out of all them. I'm pretty sure. Secondly, it's a pain because it's a high risk of bricking your wii.
    Thridly. This is a noon question [​IMG]
     
  3. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    No. It just replaces the DIP module with the one from cIOS into normal IOSes.
    For older IOSes, they're just replaced with a copy of cIOS.
     
  4. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't trick the wii into thinking that the disc is an original. If it did you would get 6x read speed from it and not 3x. Its just making all your ios's in to cios's. It's not really that bad but it is out dated. Using a launcher is really your best option.
     
  5. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    WWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWW......... YOU WILL NOT BRICK your wii with cioscorp IF
    1. Your Wii is old enough to support cIOS not made for support with LU64+ Wiis
    2. You do not have a power outage
    3. You do not touch the IOS running your system menu (for 4.0 it's 60 and 60BF is installed after, preferably)

    Also, CIOSCORP has a near perfect compatibility and removes problems with games like RB and GH, like sync issues and USB issues.

    So in the end, CIOSCORP is very much worth it IF you are not a noob and have an idea of what you are doing
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Actually the Wii treats backups like retail discs when a cIOS is used. It's the drive that is not tricked.
     
  7. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong. Cioscorp is completely safe to use. If you brick, its user error.
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Install cioscorp on boot2v4 Wii --> brick. That's "completely safe to use", i see. There may be boot2v4 Wii compatible cioscorp versions, but you are talking about cioscorp in general.
     
  9. coedshowers

    Newcomer coedshowers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    if you bricked ur wii with cioscorp ur a tard i've installed it on 50+ wii's without a single problem.
     
  10. jovanah

    Newcomer jovanah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been using Cioscorp for while now and never had any problems with it, i actually prefer to use this over a backup loader, and as mentioned above its more compatable.

    I guess it could brick your Wii if you don't install it correct, but hey allot of hacks can do that.
     
  11. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cioscorp does not brick wii's, only a prick will brick a wii.
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    precisely. knowledge is power.
     
  13. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    Well it would seem like most people share my view. I have had no trouble with it and all the bricks i have seen have resulted from user error.
     
  14. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Lol you only get a brick if you don't follow it's guide.
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Guys you can't be serious. You ALL had no brick, ok. Does anybody of you have a boot2v4 Wii? I don't think so. And following a guide is a method to avoid bricks?

    Guide:
    - delete all IOS with ATD

    Is that brick-free too?
     
  16. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I. Fucking. Hate. Retarded. Guides.

    I really wish there were none of them. Nobody needs any. Thank you very much.
     
  17. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    i agree with Arm somewhat here

    people follow a guide and it goes all good and they can play backups

    but on the other hand, they have absolutely no fucking idea what is on or in there Wii should they need to troubleshoot or whatever

    they come running back and adding to the legendary GBAFail status.
     
  18. Sonic4Ever

    Member Sonic4Ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    France
    Screw CIOScorp, it's a garbage, it copies one single IOS, patch it with warez stuff, and it replaces every single one on your system.

    This load of molten scrap is unnecessary dangerous.
     
  19. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    Well then how many people do?

    Thats because of a retarded guide, not Cioscorp.
     
  20. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    So a boot2v4 Wii is NOT bricked after installing cioscorp???
     

Share This Page