How Do I Update Official Firmware ?!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by blitxxx, Sep 8, 2009.

Sep 8, 2009
  1. blitxxx
    OP

    Newcomer blitxxx Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Greets to all. I am normally inclined when it comes to things like this (I do my own Pandora and iXtremes), but I am having a simply hard problem.

    How do I update the DS to the official firmware ?

    I have a C/USG-USA

    I go to the settings menu but it looks totally different than the tutorial on the Nintendo site.... The worst part: I have no where to configure the internet settings

    [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance


    *** edit ***


    Actually I just read this and am not sure I even need to update at all:

    Q: When there is a new update...do I have to update?
    A: You don't have to, but you do have to if you want to access the DSiShop and Nintendo will probably implement some other ways to persuade you to update as well.
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whether you want to or not, you can open System Settings, go to page 4 and press System Update and follow the instructions.

    And if you want to configure internet settings, they're on the bottom of page 3 under "Internet > Connection Settings"
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    From searching Google for "C/USG-USA" it looks like you have a DS Lite, not a DSi. The DS Phat/Lite does not have an upgradeable firmware, and you can't configure wifi settings unless you have a DS game that needs wifi to function. While technically there are different firmware versions (as evidenced by the Pictochat test), there is virtually no difference in functionality to the end-user.
     
  4. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait, why did I not notice the USG? [​IMG]
    NTR is Phat, USG is Lite and TWL is DSi (for EUR anyway)
    Using a Lite, not only is firmware stuck as it is (unless you use FlashMe, which isn't official anyway), but you can only configure WiFi when running a WiFi enabled game...(this last bit's just repeating DanTheManMS, basically)
     
  5. blitxxx
    OP

    Newcomer blitxxx Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Thanks guys

    To be honest I do not need wifi play for my daughter, so Im just going to prep my EZF and load it
     

Share This Page