Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ProfiSuchti

    OP ProfiSuchti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Hey there, i used this Guide: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-1-(Homebrew)
    to install a CFW and was successfully.

    I have a small Question for the Future: How do i Update my 3Ds Firwmare everytime if a Update is available, ?

    Can i Update trough the System Settings or can i loose at some specific Firmware Updates my CFW and Homebrew etc. ?
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,048
    Country:
    Norway
    You can update through system settings but sometimes an update may come out that will require CFW to be updated. This hasn't happened in a long time though.
     
    ProfiSuchti likes this.
  3. Purge

    Purge GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    Did you finish the guide? Did you go all the way to part 5 and setup A9LH? If so, then you can update your sysnand to 11.0 and it won't matter. However I suggest dumping your sysnand on lower firmware (like 9.2) and keep it as a backup just in case.
     
    ProfiSuchti likes this.
  4. ProfiSuchti

    OP ProfiSuchti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    What you mean with: "but sometimes an update may come out that will require CFW to be updated" ? do it would remove my CFW if i would Update my 3Ds trough System Settings while a Specific Security Firmware Update is released ? (just as example).

    Can you tell me how i can Update risk free trough Homebrew launcher or luma,A9LH etc. ? i never want to risk my CFW.

    Yes i finished part 1 to 5 and i read every single Text to the end at every single Part.I doed step for step but the Problem was: I never knew all the time what this steps are for.But i knew that the Goal was to get luma/A9LH to work XD.
    And i doed the last part with the Update trough the System Settings.

    I just asked for the Future if a Security Update will releases (IF a security Update will releases some day).
     
  5. Lia

    Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,010
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This website can guide you through all your problems ^_^ You're welcome.
     
  6. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    If you followed the full guide through section 5 and have a9lh you can just update through the system settings. Though I always recommend making a NAND backup before doing so in case you want to go back for some reason (I updated to 11.0, but then downgraded back to 10.7 when I realized the HBL payloads hadn't been updated yet)
     
  7. Lia

    Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,010
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But they were o_o you just had to rename them
     
    Purge likes this.
  8. ProfiSuchti

    OP ProfiSuchti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I think now i Understand.

    The 3Ds Updates cant remove my CFW if i Update, but they can make my CFW or my CFW Apps to unusbale so i need to do everytime before i Update a NAND Backup (Sysnand and Emunand), do i understand right ?
     
  9. 'Don

    'Don Man in a Box
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Germany
    yes and always check the temp before updating your 3ds.
     
    ProfiSuchti likes this.
  10. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,048
    Country:
    Norway
    Searching around these forums should usually tell you whether your CFW is compatible or not but a NAND backup is a good idea if it's a brand new update and no one has tested it with CFW yet.
     
    ProfiSuchti, TheCyberQuake and 'Don like this.
  11. ProfiSuchti

    OP ProfiSuchti GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    This is the best Soluition, Thanks!

    Before i Update every single Time, i check gbatemp out.

    Thank you all again^^.I love this community so much :*
     
    'Don likes this.
  12. GoldTheLuxray

    GoldTheLuxray Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It’s either that I need to get this shit repaired, if it costs more than it is, might aswell buy a new ds for him
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,048
    Country:
    Norway
    If CFW breaks because of a firmware update, you just need to update to the latest version by replacing the Luma files on SD (or if Luma hasn't been updated yet, give it a couple days)
     
  14. renin

    renin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello, I'm triyng to update my firmware with the CFW installed, and it shows an error every time I try to update the system
    Does anyone know a solution?
     
  15. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,196
    Country:
    Canada
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - everytime, Update,

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.