How do I turn off DS via YSMenu/Moonshell?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by otterpop, Apr 26, 2009.

Apr 26, 2009
  1. otterpop
    OP

    Newcomer otterpop Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Everyone,

    I feel like an idiot, but I have two questions regarding what is the proper way to turn off my new DS. I have Moonshell 2.00 Beta and YSMenu installed. When I am in YSMenu, do I just turn off the DS using the Power switch or is there a proper way to do it thru YSMenu? Same question for when I am in Moonshell; do I just turn off the DS using the Power switch or is there a proper way to do it thru Moonshell?

    Thanks in advance,

    Otter
     
  2. topgunroofm

    Member topgunroofm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Halo
    Country:
    United States
    I just flip the switch. I have YSMENU to and I just use the power switch. Same with MoonShell.
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The DS is meant to be turned off at any moment. You will not hurt anything unless you power off while in the middle of saving your game, and even then the worst that can happen is that you'd lose your save file.
     
  4. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or when flashing your DS, of course! [​IMG]
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Well yes, that's true. So few people install FlashMe anymore that it slipped my mind.
     
  6. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    there was a way in moonshell 1 to turn off your ds without using the power button. not sure about moonshell 2 though. but its alot easier just to hit the switch ya wont hurt anything
     
  7. Blackiris

    Member Blackiris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    @Findecanno
    That way was accessing the settings menu and a window will pop up when you try to exit the settings asking if you want MoonShell to soft-reset or turn off the DS.

    Actually, even though people have already said that it's okay to turn the DS off with the power switch and so on, I recall that there was an application literally called "POWEROFF.NDS" that did exactly what it's called. I still have it on my R4, and it does work.
     
  8. otterpop
    OP

    Newcomer otterpop Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all of the answers! I'm so used to using computers that I always get the feeling like I am "pulling the plug" on the DS when I use the power switch.

    Otter
     
  9. HoTsHoT89

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Mind if you could upload that .nds file to share? There's a few things that can try with that.
     
  10. Blackiris

    Member Blackiris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Oh, sure. Of course if the original maker doesn't want it around, I'll have to take it down...but for something like this, he shouldn't mind.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?zhwdmhy5zwu
     
  11. HoTsHoT89

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Ah, thanks. [​IMG]
     
  12. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Start+Select at the title screen? I seem to remember doing that on my R4
     

Share This Page