How do I take this apart?

xJonny

...
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
1,394
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
QUOTE said:
Look at the top of the heatsink. There you will see 2 levers. Flip those in the opposite direction. Try lifting the heatsink as straight up as possible. As you never know if the cpu still is'nt glued to the heatsink plate. You dont wanna bend or brake those pins on the cpu.

When you have removed the heatsink. look at the socket. There you will see another lever. This lever locks the cpu in the socket ( hopefully). Just raise this, and take out the cpu.

Otherwise consult user manual?
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
I remember I opened one of these things... Just try the two whitey things. Pull them up with a LOT of strenght. I remember these things were pretty stubborn to remove. After that, you should feel that something has loosened. After this, open with your hands some of the lower black clamps (the two on one side should suffice), and it should come away.
 

Chotaz

I'm back! :D
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
226
Country
QUOTE said:
Look at the top of the heatsink. There you will see 2 levers. Flip those in the opposite direction. Try lifting the heatsink as straight up as possible. As you never know if the cpu still is'nt glued to the heatsink plate. You dont wanna bend or brake those pins on the cpu.

When you have removed the heatsink. look at the socket. There you will see another lever. This lever locks the cpu in the socket ( hopefully). Just raise this, and take out the cpu.

Otherwise consult user manual?



no screws on it, no info bout it on user manul, thanks the same =)

QUOTE(raulpica @ Feb 15 2008, 12:08 AM)I remember I opened one of these things... Just try the two whitey things. Pull them up with a LOT of strenght. I remember these things were pretty stubborn to remove. After that, you should feel that something has loosened. After this, open with your hands some of the lower black clamps (the two on one side should suffice), and it should come away.

tbh, the white thigns came out pretty easy, but i just cant pull it out and im afraid to break it :\
and soryr i dont get the 'bolded' step :\
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,716
Country
Italy
I remember I opened one of these things... Just try the two whitey things. Pull them up with a LOT of strenght. I remember these things were pretty stubborn to remove. After that, you should feel that something has loosened. After this, open with your hands some of the lower black clamps (the two on one side should suffice), and it should come away.


tbh, the white thigns came out pretty easy, but i just cant pull it out and im afraid to break it :\
and soryr i dont get the 'bolded' step :\
Yeah, I remember something like this... There's no other way, you have to overcome the fear of breaking it, otherwise it will never come away
tongue.gif


Be sure to gently remove the lower clamps from the lower black piece (the one directly under the processor), I remember they came away pretty easily. You just have to bend them a little with your fingers to free the clamps. After that, just lower your processor on the opposite side and the other two clamps should came away with the fan block.

BTW, there's almost NO risk of damaging the processor, as is solidly locked under it. The worst that could happen is that you have to buy another fan block
rofl2.gif
 

Chotaz

I'm back! :D
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
226
Country
FUCK YEAH!!!!


thanks for helping me guys, spec u raul, i got it off
smile.gif
, now i need to find the screws so i can clean the interior of it =)


edit: no screws, i found another clapms and took the rest out, finally i can clean this shit, i formatted the computer 2 days ago, and still with only kaspersky and utorrent, it was lagging running maplestory -.-' and lagging a lot, always restarting with over tempreture error, and now finally i can clean it up =), and i learnt wath the word clamp means xD
 

Chotaz

I'm back! :D
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
226
Country
i hope that clean this mess up helps me with my lagging and overtempreture error, because, ive placed the PC near the window without lateral and everytime i started it i ahd an overtempreture :\
 

Chotaz

I'm back! :D
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
226
Country
i just formatted my 2 new hdd, and ive got 512mb ram, with only anti-virus,basic system stuff + maplestory doesnt evne consume half of the memory i have :\
 

Chotaz

I'm back! :D
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
757
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
226
Country
ill let the desktop open, i need to get some sleep, ill get up earlier tomorrow and clean the PC, then ill feedback the results

*sorry for the double posting :\
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty
    what are you looking at?
  • BakerMan
    ReZ and Xdqwerty, please stop looking at me.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah ftp and occasionally samba at the house.
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    By the way under Windows you can use Total Commander to access so many sources as drives, SFTP, FTP, WebDav, Cloud shares, etc.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Total Commander rules.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I think i can't sleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    jailbreaking windows and android is op
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Wut
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i thought that's what they were talking about
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Ohkay
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Ohkay