Homebrew possible only with a chip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Shebang, Apr 24, 2009.

Apr 24, 2009
  1. Shebang
    OP

Member Shebang GBAtemp Fan

Belgium
    I am a WII noob: My LEH21... just arrived the other day. Along with a Wasabi DX (wow, they are small!!).

I'd like to play Wiiware games but I have the bad feeling that I need to go through that Zelda-crack-thing-something before I get it. Is there any way around so I can just use the Wasabi to control things?

Thanks for your input

shebang

2. beegee7730

Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

United Kingdom
    just burn a copy of zelda.
    if you own it.
    no piracy happening here.

3. afnuke

Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

United States
    yeah, but what if you have 4.0............even with mod, can you still do it.?? I have a drivekey, sitting on my shelf, had to send my softmodded wii in because of fried gpu........they are sending another one (its in transit) Im sure its going to have 4.0 on it. sorry I had the same question except I wanted to specify 4.0 firmware.

4. WiiPower

Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

Germany
    1. You don't need a modchip for homebrew, so the answer to the question in title is: no.
    2. If your Wii is at 4.0 and it didn't have anything homebrew related on it before the update, then the chance to get ANY homebrew running on it is 0. Maybe this changes in the future(bannerbomb). And modchips don't help, because on 4.0 the only burned discs that are accepted are 100% 1:1 copies of retail games.

5. afnuke

Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

United States