HELP

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, May 17, 2011.

May 17, 2011

HELP by LightyKD at 9:13 PM (4,848 Views / 0 Likes) 83 replies

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Hey everyone. I installed MDK2 today and now I cant play ANYTHING. In Neogamma I get a disc error 1167. In Uloader (using USB DVD) I get a DRE and through the system menu I get the "please turn off system" message. I tried uninstalling MDK2 and I get nothing. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Darkcorp and in each process I can get to 70% and then the system resets. I even tried restoring a nand backup from months ago and still NOTHING. I just don know what to do. It's an older model Wii capable of playing disc backups so I just dont get what's going wrong. [​IMG]

    Edit: I also cant open up channels with the exception of the Homebrew Channel. -_-' Ugh! BTW I'm on system menu 4.2u
     


  2. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I might have a corrupt IOS and might need to reinstall that or the whole damn menu with files. Does anyone know if Waninkoko's 4.2 installer still works. I dont want to update to 4.3
     
  3. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    just use Modmii to do a PROPER remod frm scratch....link in my sig. install to your PC...start the wizard; answer questions honestly....

    it will keep you on 4.2U and *hopefully* fix your problems....
     
  4. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried your suggestion I'm still getting DRE's when I open channels.
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    download the system menu wad for 4.2U and try reinstalling that too (warning it will uninstall priiloader, so reinstall that afterwards). You can download it from ModMii's download page 1

    edit: if that doesn't work and if u have bootmii @ boot2, I'd look into ohneswanzenegger or crediar's nand formatter
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Can you run the retail disc from the Disc Channel or NeoGamma?
     
  7. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. I cant run a retail disc
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't work in either? Do you get the same errors?
     
  9. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I get the same errors. It's always the "Please eject the disc and turn the power off" message. It happens every 6-12 seconds after I put a disc into the drive.

    Tried NeoGamma again... another Error 1167
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure the code 1167 when you open up channels? That doesn't make sense.
     
  11. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Neogamma = DVD Error 1167

    Just sticking a Disc into the Wii gives me this = "An error has occured. Press the Eject Button and remove the disc, then turn the Wii console off and refer to the Wii Operations Manual for help troubleshooting."

    Wii Channels = An error has occured. Press the Eject Button, remove the Game Disc, and turn off the power to the console. Please read the Wii Operations Manual for further instructions.
     
  12. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make a NAND backup? Probably the most useful 528 Megabyte file out there in the Wii scene.

    EDIT: Sorry, I was specifically looking for the term NAND, but the context kinda tells me you didn't. I would go with ModMii if you didn't.
     
  13. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes and I tried reinstalling my NAND backup and I get the same problem. I also just upgraded to 4.3 and I STILL get the same issue. I'm clueless.

    At this rate I'd be happy just getting USB DVD loading back but even now, when I try to load a disc through ULoader, It's the same error.
     
  14. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone else around here had an issue with a corrupt system menu after a Wad install?
     
  15. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    OK. Here's a new question. What would keep a Wii from loading games and channels. I'm looking at the brick description page on hackmii.org and my situation doesnt match any of the following


    Semi/Partial Brick

    A Semi/Partial Brick occurs when a System Menu update from the wrong region is installed on a Wii or some resources have been otherwise damaged, breaking some (but not all) of the functionality of the System Menu. Typically, games will still boot but the Settings menu will not work -- this prevents the system from healing itself with an online update. These cases can be fixed by installing a newer version of the System Menu from a disc of the correct region, or with any other tool that can modify the System Menu.

    Banner Brick

    A Banner Brick occurs when the user installs a channel with an invalid banner (wrong image size). With this type of brick the system will freeze after the Health and Safety screen and may display a "System Files are Corrupted" error message. This can be fixed if the Wii has previously had BootMii (as Boot2) or Preloader installed, otherwise it's the hypothetical equivalent to a Full Brick.
    Since boot2 is intact during a Banner Brick, any user who owns a pre Q4 2008 Wii with BootMii installed (as boot2) can access BootMii regardless of any corrupt WAD installed. From here they can access the HBC to uninstall the broken channel.
    NOTE: Uninstalling the incorrect channel may lead to further damage, so users should be careful.
    Alternatively, if the user has Preloader installed, they can use it to access the HBC and uninstall the broken channel.
    NOTE: Uninstalling the incorrect WAD may lead to further damage, so users should be careful.

    Full Brick (System Menu)

    Generally speaking, a "full brick" occurs when the System Menu refuses to boot for any reason. There are two typical symptoms of a full brick:
    1. The Wii displays an Opera error message instead of the “WARNING SCREEN" when the Wii boots and does not check the disc drive for a disc before displaying the error. Because of this it's impossible to fix using software unless you have BootMii installed (as boot2), or you use a Savemii Dongle with an autoboot disc.
    2. The Wii displays nothing and you are presented with a black screen. Because of this it's impossible to fix using software, UNLESS you have BootMii installed (as boot2), or you use a Savemii Dongle with an autoboot disc. In some cases the latter will be unable to fix this brick.
    A broken Bluetooth Module will present the same symptoms, but can only be fixed by replacing the module.

    Full Brick (IOS)

    If the Wii NAND filesystem is corrupt, the System Menu's IOS is missing or invalid, or the System Menu executable is missing or invalid, then the system will refuse to boot and nothing will be displayed on the screen. Depending on the exact cause of failure, Preloader or BootMii/boot2 can fix (and are required to fix) this sort of brick, assuming they are installed and the system boots far enough to run them.
    A broken Wifi Module will present the same symptoms, but can only be fixed by replacing the module.

    Low Level Brick (LLB)

    A LLB occurs when part of the boot process is corrupt -- boot1 is corrupt, or boot2 is corrupt. Since boot2 is required to be working and able load an IOS before the system can run, any errors in this process will render the system inoperable. A LLB cannot be fixed with software and requires hardware modification to be repaired.

    Error 003 Brick

    See Error 003


    See I have access o the Wii Menu and the settings menu. I have HBC and bootmii access. I can even recover my NAND. I did it this morning and wen from 4.3 back to 4.2. I did however try the recovery menu and only got 4.2(U) at the bottom of my screen and nothing else. I just dont know... I cant load disc and I cant load USB DVD. It's puzzling.
     
  16. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Run Dop-Mii and run a syscheck. Post the results here.
     
  17. Bad_Ad84

    Newcomer Bad_Ad84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pretty sure that should be comex's nand formatter?
     
  18. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    OK I just got home. I'm running the Sys Check in Dop Mii and will post up as soon as possible.

    EDIT: This is what I get when running the sys check

    IOS Version FakeSign ES_Identify NAND Flash
    250 (v65535) Enabled Disabled Enabled Disabled
    249 (v20) Enabled Disabled Enabled Disabled
    222 (v4) Enabled Enabled Enabled Disabled
    202 (v65535) Enabled Disabled Enabled Disabled
    70 (v65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    61 (v5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    60 (v65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    58 (v5918) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled

    ...and nothing else shows up. What now? [​IMG]
     
  19. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    nope, crediar's nand formatter is super secret and only used by the coolest ppl ever

    or u could be right, lol [​IMG]
    my bad
     
  20. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I just added info to my last post. Please look above [​IMG]
     

Share This Page