Help with Tales of Symphonia

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by guedesbrawl, Feb 10, 2013.

Feb 10, 2013
  1. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    i have both dolphin 3.0 and 3.5.i am currently playing ToS on the 3.0,because it was graphically better (besides the tittle screen text not showing,that is.).

    however,i've arrived at a snow town named Flanoir.
    the game hangs,like,5 or so seconds while i am outside houses in the town.i have to make a path connecting houses to progress within the town,and that was kinda alright,but it was annoying.

    so,i've transferred my memory card over to 3.5 and tried,it was working perfectly.At the time,i was only exploring,there was nothing important to do there,but...well.

    after i was done fooling around,i transferred the card back to 3.0 and moved on...but now,there is a sidequest that requires me to get an item from an NPC in Flanoir,and that npc is outside a house.
    i can reach him with no problems,bu the game hangs during the scene (weird,because the other npcs,cutscene or not,do not make the game hang.).
    i've tried to odo the 3.0-->3.5 trick again,but now it's hanging outside too...?

    any ideas on how to fix this issue?/
    if you need any data,please,ask me,and give me directions to find...i'm a noob when it comes to these things,and when my OS is in brazilian portuguese,i could get a little lost...(like when somebody asked me about my video card...it is known here as a 'placa de video',and that translates to something like videoboard [like,motherboard])


    ...please,help.[​IMG]
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use the latest 3.5? Download 3.5 again if you are not sure.
     
  3. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Any ideas what specs I should have to run this on Dolphin?
    Because I can run Twilight Princess and Wind Waker pretty fine (albeit at like 800x600 w/o anti-aliasing and such, but still), but ToS can barely run at 30 fps on the same settings.
     
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    What specs do you have right now?
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    Pretty much this, except that I used to run Dolphin on Windows 7.
    ... Actually I haven't tried it yet on Windows 8, maybe it works better on there?
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You going need to do some upgrading there (Windows 8 is not going to help). In particular your GPU is the weakest parts. An entry level GPU like HD7750/HD7700 will be a major upgrade (assuming your motherboard has PCIe slot).

    Of course if you are willing to put some extra money down,

    * A6/A8 APU with DDR3-1600 (cheaper, no need to buy separate GPU)
    * Intel i3-2100 + HD7750 (more expensive, but powerful than above)
     
  7. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thank you!

    i did not know there were multiple versions of the same revision...well,it worked.
    it is not graphically pleasant,but i can manage.
     

Share This Page