Help with running some homebrew stuff

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by lolman196, Jul 9, 2010.

Jul 9, 2010
  1. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi GBAtemp, I need help with running some of my homebrew apps I have for my DSTT. Ok so some of the apps I have (Moonshell DSorganize and NesDS) aren't letting me browse for the games or songs I want to load. But the other console emulators I have work fine. I have no idea what to do and I'd really appriciate it if someone helped me out. Thanks! (Oh and by the way these apps just randomly stopped working) These apps used to work before but now they don't. And also, the roms still boot up but they wont let me browse for the stuff I want to load! [​IMG]
     
  2. Pikachu123angel

    Newcomer Pikachu123angel Nintendo Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Stoke, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you pull your microSD out of your computer before they stopped working?
     
  3. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, but before they worked fine until I put some other homebrew and stuff on my DSTT
     
  4. Pikachu123angel

    Newcomer Pikachu123angel Nintendo Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Stoke, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try doing this:
    go to the link and format your sd card REMEMBER to back up the files on your sd card
    try taking off the other homebrew or some games
    or you could re-download the files and put them back on

    you could have:
    not enough space on your micro sd
    lack of using a formatter
    corrupt the files

    link: http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/
     
  5. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    You see, the thing is I forgot to menton that when I try to back up files from my MicroSD to my PC it says "Parameters is incorrect" or something along the lines of that. So if I did format my MicroSD, I would have to download all of my files again. And I have already tried all of the other things you mentioned. So I think i may have corrupt the files. (Maybe from trying to install that English translation patch for Shonen Jump Ultimate stars?) I'm pretty sure that's what corrupt my files.
     
  6. Pikachu123angel

    Newcomer Pikachu123angel Nintendo Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Stoke, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you scroll through the tt menu?
    if you can move through the tt menu, can you load anything? If so, what?
     
  7. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    I can scroll through the TT menu and I can load regular games, almost all homebrew (except NesDS MoonShell and DSorganize like I mentioned before).
     
  8. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    If your microSD isn't allowing you to do anything while using the PC, then it is definitely having some problems regardless if the flashcart can read it or not.
     
  9. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh I forgot to mention, I can still put roms and stuff on my MicroSD from my pc.
     
  10. Pikachu123angel

    Newcomer Pikachu123angel Nintendo Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Stoke, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you got other copies of those homebrews?
     
  11. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    About backing up your MicroSD card..
    I vaguely remember I had something like 'Parameters are incorrect' when I tried copying stuff from a Flashdrive to the PC as a backup

    IIRC it was something to do with either 'invalid' characters in one of the Directory paths OR the directory path was too long.......


    ....while typing this out I found my original post on another forum. Apparently it was the directoy path was too long.The original path was something like
    Code:
    K:\Programs\Runable From USB\OpenOffice 3 (Office Suite)\Data\settings\user\uno_packages\cache\registry\com.sun.star.comp.deployment.12345.PackageRegistryBackend
    When I changed it to
    Code:
    K:\Programs\Runable From USB\OpenOffice 3\Data\settings\user\uno_packages\cache\registry\com.sun.star.comp.deployment.12345.PackageRegistryBackend
    I could copy the folders over just fine (FYI - my flashdrive contains a lot of 'Portable Apps' - one of which is - as you can see - Open office)

    Can you check to see if you have any very long directory paths ???
    Have you tried copying over a directory 'one-at-a-time' to see if a particular directoy is causing the problem (I think that's what I did before I figured out what it was) ??
    - If you have a corrupted file - then doing this might be able to point to where it is
     
  12. lolman196
    OP

    Newcomer lolman196 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    In my NES
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been checking my folders on my MicroSD and lots of them have multiple corrupt files and it would take me hours to back up all of my files and format it. And I dont think it's too long of a directory path problem either because I tried to back up my NES roms folder and the path is only this: "L:\NES Roms\ Mega Man 5 (USA).nes", for that rom that it said "Parameters are incorrect".

    MAJOR EDIT: I just tried backing up some files to my pc and I backed up lots of stuff but then my computer completly froze so I couldn't do anything then I just took out my micro sd and when I put it back in, The files had been corrupt into 6 files. Woo hoo. Atleast I got all my DS roms before it froze. All I have to do now is format and re-download some stuff.

    EDIT:Now everything is working again! Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page