Hacking Help with preloader 0.29

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
????
XP
239
Country
Canada
Ok so how do you install preloader on a 4.0 wii ? Do i just boot the program up in the wii and let it go or do i need some things installed first before i use it? Help would be appreciated
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
The code for 0.29 is "1".

So when you launch preloader, just press 1. No need to press all buttons (As what LightyKD suggested).


You also need the hacks.ini to be place in the root of your SD Card.
 

raptir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
If you're going to install the patched ios60, make sure you do that before you install preloader. It won't damage anything, but you'll need to reinstall preloader after you patch it. That allows you to play WiiWare off an SD card, which is, I'm assuming why you updated.

Speaking of that, does anyone have a link for the ios60 installer? Just the network installer.
 

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
????
XP
239
Country
Canada
Can anyone tell me what the requirements are do i NEED rev 9 or 10 installed or what?

Also what about the ios60 do u need that?
 

imapterodactyl

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
424
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
mario41001 said:
BIG EDIT

Soo i have the patched ios60 installed so i can install pre loader?


If you have ios60 patched then you obviously had a cIOS and the homebrew channel installed when you updated to 4.0, so yes, you should be all set. Just run preloader from the homebrew channel, follow the instructions, and you're good to go. You need the correct hacks.ini for your region in the root of your SD card in order to install any hacks you want. Grab the latest hacks from here:

http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Preloader/hacks

You can remove hacks.ini from your SD root after enabling the hacks you want, but you'll have to put it back when/if you want make any changes to them later. Everything else functions as normal with or without the ini.
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
411
Country
United States
install the patch ios60
install preloader

your done.

If you install preloader first and then patch ios60.You will get the message that your system menu is corrupt.(semi brick i believe its called).If this happens just reinstall preloader and it fixes it.
 

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
????
XP
239
Country
Canada
So then i open up ios downgrader in my 4.0 wii and then downgrade ios36 ????

Also is there a difference between custom ios downgrader or is there an actual ios downgrader app???

Sorry about all this need to get things straight before i try
 

menage730

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
179
Trophies
0
XP
145
Country
United States
yes there is a big difference between the 2 CIOSDOWNGRADER downgrades your systemmenu & IOSDOWNGRADER downgrades your IOS so they are hackable SO YOU NEED TO RUN IOSDOWNGRADER
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker