help with nintendos wifi adapter

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by jowan, Nov 18, 2008.

Nov 18, 2008

help with nintendos wifi adapter by jowan at 7:14 PM (1,438 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. jowan
    OP

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    i bought aa adapter for wifi (the one from nintendo) and when i install it and connect my ds the ds makes the test and it says it has signal but then its gone what to do?
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    did you restart the pc and the DS after installing the drivers and did you pair your DS with the nintendo wifi program from the TASK BAR icon and allow your DS to use the connection ??
     
  3. jowan
    OP

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    i didnt restart the pc but i did the others things you think thats the problem?
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    install the drivers connect the USB adapter when prompted let it install when its installed RESTART the computer with the usb adapter attached

    when you are back into windows double click the nintendo wifi adapter icon on the task bar you will get a window come up this is where you allow/deny connections to the WIFI Adapter [​IMG]

    now start your DS up and choose a wifi game .. I recommend MARIO KART its the easiest to use to set up ..

    start the game and choose NINTENDO WFC and then choose NINTENDO WFC SETTINGS

    Hit the BIG BLUE BUTTON Nintendo wifi connection settings

    click the blue bar icon CONNECT to your Nintendo wifi usb connector

    click OK ... and it will start to connect

    look at the window for the wifi adapter on your computer it should show your DS user name/nickname

    right click on your name and choose to allow/grant access

    your ds should now confirm the connection and do a test (cant remember you may have to get it to do the connection test not used my connector for ages as i use wifi bridge now instead:) )


    once the test is successful then click back and back again keep hitting back until your back in the MARIO KART options now choose NINTENDO WFC MATCH choose YES to connect it should tell you its downloaded your settings/friend codes settings and stored them [​IMG]

    you should now be able to connect and play a wifi match either friends/rivals/regional or worldwide game [​IMG]

    note the WIFI ADAPTER will not work for homebrew software [​IMG]

    you can however mess about turning it into a SOFT APPLICATION wifi adapter but honestly its more hassle than its really worth!
     
  5. jowan
    OP

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    i did just like you said but it says error code 52103 and go to nintendowifi.com abd i do as they say but it still doesnt work what should i do now?
     
  6. Radio

    Newcomer Radio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What firewall are you using? Sometimes the DS connects to the computer fine so you can register the DS in the wifi settings but the firewall prevents it from connecting to the internet.
    Zonealarm free edition has a big problem with this unfortunately.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    if this is the case set it to MEDIUM settings on the slider/sliders in the firewall settings of zone alarm [​IMG]

    it will prompt to allow or deny access when you try connect [​IMG]

    you could also try trouble shooting here [​IMG]
     
  8. Radio

    Newcomer Radio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately that doesn't work with Zonealarm free. You either have to turn it off, (not recommended) use a different firewall or upgrade to the pro version so that you can open the ports needed following the instructions here. I did the later and it works for me.
     
  9. jowan
    OP

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    i use panda antivirus+firewall and i dont know how to add the application to the allowed list [​IMG]
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    It works with the FREE version! (I Use the FREE version) and I Know it works with It .....

    you just have to lower the settings in FIREWALL/MAIN to MEDIUM for both sliders and then you should be able to connect through it [​IMG]

    the other way is to quit ZONE ALARM from the task bar (Right Click and shut zone alarm down) connect your WiFi adapter and get it working with a game then reload ZONEALARM from program files [​IMG]
     
  11. Radio

    Newcomer Radio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/wii/en_na/onlineFirewall.jsp ://http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/sy...neFirewall.jsp is the customer service page detailing some of the things that you can try and change in your firewall settings. I'm not familiar with the Panda firewall so you will have to double check the manual on how to adjust these settings but it's pretty straight forward to do once you know where the menu options are.
    You may not have to add the trusted applications depending on how your firewall functions but try adding the port settings (if you haven't already) and IP ranges and see how you go.

    The other thing that may or may not help is to check online to make sure that you have the most recent driver for the adapter. Probably won't make a difference but it's always best to get the latest driver as it could have other fixes.
     
  12. jowan
    OP

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    thanks for the help guys, nothing really worked, i think ill just quit my illusion to be able to play online again [​IMG]
     

Share This Page