Help with a Yowii solderless chip!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by zidane_genome, Nov 10, 2008.

Nov 10, 2008
  1. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, just got a Yowii soldless modchip from TechSick...

    I pop it on my D2B chip, and turn on my Wii... the Yowii chip lights up green (LED) and that's all it does...

    Won't load GC backups, won't load Wii backups...

    Just sits there sucking power...

    What did I do wrong? It was supposed to come flashed with Yaosm 2.0, but at this point, I don't think it did...

    I don't have a DB9 (serial) port since i'm on a laptop...

    Someone please help!
     


  2. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    It probably wasn't flashed... from what I heard the Green LED means it needs to be flashed.

    But you can go to wiinewz and find the config discs, burn a config disc, and check if it works. You also have to make sure that the first disc you load is from your Wii's region.
     
  3. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    found the config disc... burnt it to a DVD... popped it in... and nothing...

    doesnt load...

    just gives the ? screen... tried restarting with the disc in the drive... still nothing... holding every button combo I can think of on the GC controller... nothing...

    wtf... easy and fast my ass!
     
  4. Shichibukai

    Member Shichibukai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Teeworlds!
    Country:
    Spain
  5. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    www.techsick.com

    I prefer solderless, so if I need to send my Wii back, I can just pop it off, and there's no trace... plus, my wife won't let a solder iron in the same room as the Wii... she'd KILL me...

    The chip was presoldered on the clip... pop it on the D2B (not cut) drive chip, and power on my Wii.. light turns green...

    try to run the config disc... nothing... try to run a backup... nothing... try to run a gamecube backup... TURN OFF YOUR WII error message... try to run a pressed game... works!

    ANYONE???
     
  6. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm Not sure.. Does it play originals fine?
    Just to be sure it isn't messing with the drive at all.
     
  7. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    yea, originals (pressed) games boot up fine... i can still use the backup loader... just can't get the chip to light up blue, or work...

    I'm really getting pissed now... it was advertised as easy and quick to install... it's been well over 6 hours now, and it will won't work... there are NO GUIDES whatsoever on how to do the config disc... nothing on what the LED lights mean... I'm really about to trade this bastard!
     
  8. Shichibukai

    Member Shichibukai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Teeworlds!
    Country:
    Spain
  9. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States

    Lol, I saw that too and was wondering the same thing,

    If it isn't you, then you arent alone.
     
  10. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    yea, that's me, lol

    That fourm is updated about as much as the G6DS Real fourms... (they were last updated Feb 2006)
     
  11. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    You can try asking techsick for one that's preflashed w/ YAOSM 3.2. Or buy the programmer, and try finding any computer with a serial port.
     
  12. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I have the programmer... but no DB9 of my own...
     
  13. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Then all you can do is find a computer w/ a DB9 port that you have access to. [​IMG]
     
  14. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried flashing it with my parents computer, but it said there was an error, and wasn't able to flash it... so I got a dud... figures... will have to send it back....
     
  15. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Thats crap, you should have just gone with a WiiKey. Mine has worked perfect with every game I through at it.
     
  16. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    You used 12F683 2 LED hex right? [​IMG]
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I got a D2all I am fairly happy with.
     
  18. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Afaik the LED shouldn't be green if the chip is not flashed. Are you sure that you have a D2B and that it's pins are not cut? can you make a highres photo of your drive?
     
  19. india3

    Newcomer india3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    India
    hm... i'm going to get a yaosm chip too, but i'm going with dubsoutlet.com... it's $35, and he'll flash it with yaosm 3.2 if you ask him, and i haven't heard of any problems with the free clip...

    i emailed questions to techsick (5 so far) and no reply in the past month or so, so i abandoned them.
     
  20. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    well, I filed a complaint with PayPal (virtual credit card), so I'm not going to pay for a chip I can't use...

    I've emailed TechSick like 5 times about it...

    I tried to flash the chip, but it gives me an error at about 87-88%... I'm just gonna sell it all off as is...

    I'll be getting a WiiKey soon...

    Yes, I have a D2B chipset with no cut legs... I'll post some photos tomorrow, it's 1215 at night, and I'm just too pissed to deal with it anymore tonight...

    It still sits at solid green when I connect it... so if anyone else has a Yowii, and know's what the hell that means...
     

Share This Page