[Help] Translating a game

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Asker, May 2, 2011.

May 2, 2011

[Help] Translating a game by Asker at 9:59 AM (3,178 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. Asker
    OP

Newcomer Asker Newbie

United States
    Hi all,
    Ive just started translating an nds rom yesterday and still figuring out how this thing works. This is my first time working on translating, and I have tons of questions to ask. So, please bear with me. Ive read several guide on www.romhacking.net and still confused on most of the things.
    Basically, I extract the rom using DsLazy. Then I look for the script folder.
    My first problem:
    Ive read somewhere that script files are in .bin format, but in the game im going to translate the script files are in .DAT format, are these script files? Is NDS script file have various format?
    [​IMG]

Next I tried to open the script file with WindHex. Ive used Shift-JIS table and unicode settings. But the problem is not all of the script files have the dialouge within it,
    some files only give me this:
    [​IMG]
    So I was wondering, does the script folders contain all the in game script? or are the script scattered in other folders as well?

Then this is where im currently stuck in, how to dump the script @.@??
    Ive tried to save it to txt and open in NJSTar, but no luck. The text didnt display as japanese characters but some alien text that I dont understand @.@??
    Ive also noticed that WindHex has the Dump text option. Is this used to dump the text? If so, can anybody tell me how to? and what is 'start offset' and 'end offset'?
    [​IMG]
    PS: There is one file that I manage to save as a file and succesfuly opened in NJStar, but only this file, not other files @.@
    I noticed that the one that cant be saved have the b-xxx.a thing before and after the dialogue, are these the one that make the file cant be saved?

[​IMG]