[help] So I have two OS's installed

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
I installed Windows 7 on a separate partition but now when I boot it asks me to load one. What is the easiest/best way to delete the Windows Vista OS? Is it to simply to format the drive that has Vista installed?

Also is there a setting to allow the system to boot a specific OS if I have more than one installed instead of asking me which?

Thanks in advance.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,440
Trophies
2
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,235
Country
United States
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.

Thanks for quick response, and yes I've backed everything up on the Vista drive. So I can't just simply format the drive that has vista on it instead of using app to remove it from the boot list?
 

Anon10W1z

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,112
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere over the rainbow
XP
174
Country
United States
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.

Thanks for quick response, and yes I've backed everything up on the Vista drive. So I can't just simply format the drive that has vista on it instead of using app to remove it from the boot list?
Remove it from the bootlist. (and DON'T reformat)
 

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.

Thanks for quick response, and yes I've backed everything up on the Vista drive. So I can't just simply format the drive that has vista on it instead of using app to remove it from the boot list?
Remove it from the bootlist. (and DON'T reformat)

well I do want to reformat to wipe the drive clean, thanks for your input though.
 

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
Well, what I normally do is I actually delete the partition Vista is on, by going to Device Manager on Windows 7, then you'll be given the option to expand/increase the volume of any other partition. Do that to the one Windows 7 is on, and voila.

Also you might still see both in dual boot. If you want to get rid of that, download Easy BCD and delete Windows Vista's entry. Don't worry. This method is absolutely clean.
Hope this helps. ^_^
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Jamstruth

Secondary Feline Anthropomorph
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
3,462
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
North East Scotland
XP
669
Country
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.

Thanks for quick response, and yes I've backed everything up on the Vista drive. So I can't just simply format the drive that has vista on it instead of using app to remove it from the boot list?
The bootloader would still think its there (its a little bit dumb like that). EasyBCD will allow you to remove the entry from the list and set it to automatically boot into Windows 7.

As for the guy saying not to reformat: Why? We are going to format 1 partition, not his entire harddrive.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
Seeing how it's on a second partition you should first backup all of the data on said partition with Vista on it, install EasyBCD, there should be an option to remove Windows Vista from the bootlist. Do so, then you can just format the partition and everything should work fine.

Thanks for quick response, and yes I've backed everything up on the Vista drive. So I can't just simply format the drive that has vista on it instead of using app to remove it from the boot list?
The bootloader would still think its there (its a little bit dumb like that). EasyBCD will allow you to remove the entry from the list and set it to automatically boot into Windows 7.

As for the guy saying not to reformat: Why? We are going to format 1 partition, not his entire harddrive.

Thanks I'll use EasyBCD to remove from the list then delete the vista partition.
 

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
so I finally moved the boot to windows 7 and removed vista so no more dual boot. Problem now is the now formated drive where vista use to be is a primary partition. I want to change it to a logical one but the partition wizard won't let me. Anyone can help with this one?
 

Sterling

GBAtemp's Silver Hero
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
4,023
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
XP
1,059
Country
United States
so I finally moved the boot to windows 7 and removed vista so no more dual boot. Problem now is the now formated drive where vista use to be is a primary partition. I want to change it to a logical one but the partition wizard won't let me. Anyone can help with this one?
There's a nifty program called EASEUS Partition master that you can get for free. You can do anything (relating to formatting, partitioning, etc) with this thing, including changing the primary status of a drive. LINK
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
so I finally moved the boot to windows 7 and removed vista so no more dual boot. Problem now is the now formated drive where vista use to be is a primary partition. I want to change it to a logical one but the partition wizard won't let me. Anyone can help with this one?
There's a nifty program called EASEUS Partition master that you can get for free. You can do anything (relating to formatting, partitioning, etc) with this thing, including changing the primary status of a drive. LINK

Thanks I'll check it out. Now I have to deal with the drivers...most seem to work but I'm getting a display driver error when I opened up a micro HDrip of a film, after a while the screen flickered and windows 7 said "the display driver recovered from an error" or something like that.

What do you recommend for checking, installing/installing drivers?
 

Sterling

GBAtemp's Silver Hero
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
4,023
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
XP
1,059
Country
United States
so I finally moved the boot to windows 7 and removed vista so no more dual boot. Problem now is the now formated drive where vista use to be is a primary partition. I want to change it to a logical one but the partition wizard won't let me. Anyone can help with this one?
There's a nifty program called EASEUS Partition master that you can get for free. You can do anything (relating to formatting, partitioning, etc) with this thing, including changing the primary status of a drive. LINK

Thanks I'll check it out. Now I have to deal with the drivers...most seem to work but I'm getting a display driver error when I opened up a micro HDrip of a film, after a while the screen flickered and windows 7 said "the display driver recovered from an error" or something like that.

What do you recommend for checking, installing/installing drivers?
Well, you could use device manager to do that.

Start -> Alt click computer -> Properties -> Device Manager

I suppose you already knew that, but I thought it'd be good to post anyway.

If it was a recent change and it was working before, just roll it back. If you haven't changed anything, I'd suggest getting the latest driver from the manufacturer's website.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
Did it solve anything?

EDIT: Double post lol.

Oh hi Sterling I've haven't tried your suggestions out yet. Concerning the driver management I just never liked touching that but you make a good point about rolling back. I went from vista 64 bits to windows 7 64 bits and that's when I started getting problems. I've been thinking about downloading an app called driver genius as it manages drivers and downloads them...
 

Sterling

GBAtemp's Silver Hero
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
4,023
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
XP
1,059
Country
United States
Did it solve anything?

EDIT: Double post lol.

Oh hi Sterling I've haven't tried your suggestions out yet. Concerning the driver management I just never liked touching that but you make a good point about rolling back. I went from vista 64 bits to windows 7 64 bits and that's when I started getting problems. I've been thinking about downloading an app called driver genius as it manages drivers and downloads them...
Don't be afraid to touch your drivers. Widows usually has default drivers it can load if you do something it doesn't like. If you mess up, its not hard to fix a driver problem. Now, registry editing on the other hand is a pain in the ass, and can seriously break windows. Not just figuratively, but literally. I've tossed my keyboard through a window before.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

DigitalDeviant

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2010
Messages
2,080
Trophies
0
Location
Solar Federation
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
Did it solve anything?

EDIT: Double post lol.

Oh hi Sterling I've haven't tried your suggestions out yet. Concerning the driver management I just never liked touching that but you make a good point about rolling back. I went from vista 64 bits to windows 7 64 bits and that's when I started getting problems. I've been thinking about downloading an app called driver genius as it manages drivers and downloads them...
Don't be afraid to touch your drivers. Widows usually has default drivers it can load if you do something it doesn't like. If you mess up, its not hard to fix a driver problem. Now, registry editing on the other hand is a pain in the ass, and can seriously break windows. Not just figuratively, but literally. I've tossed my keyboard through a window before.

Thanks Sterling I'm learning to be less afraid to mess with the computers os and hardware, your a great help!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    do not listen to Veho, this man is clearly on drugs and wants you to eat pixels
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene, Judging by the looks of things, yes.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I don't deny that I'm on drugs.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You honest about that? :creep:
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Someone on drugs would be holding a knife.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    no, I'm just holding a lighter
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    trust me, I'm green
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I can see that you are.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not easy being green.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I came across yet another one of those "gaming on a $2 laptop" videos and I'm irked, again.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This time it's a "budget phone" that costs $99... on a Cyber Monday sale... if you sign a two year contract with the provider... only in America. It's $600 everywhere else.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Well, can't you just select 'Don't recommend channel' so that YT wouldn't keep recommending them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Because it's not just one channel doing it.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It could be just YT in general.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's like wack-a-mole, you ignore
    one video and two more pop up.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That happens to me A LOT
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Don't know why that is, but it's really annoying
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Had to unsubscribe to some channels, but they keep coming back
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    So I do feel your pain :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The site went down it seems.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Been getting unexpected database errors and then BOOM! Cloudfare went down.
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Who gave pac-man arms and legs? :blink:
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Sonic Angel Knight, I don't get what you mean?
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/CSv9gmZ.mp4