Homebrew [Help!] Pokemon Emerald VC inject keeps freezing

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
Hi all! Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere, but I've looked far and wide about this and not been able to find a solution. Basically, no matter what I do it seems like, whenever I install a Pokemon Emerald CIA (made with NSUI) on my 3DS, the game freezes and starts playing a high-pitched noise just as the Professor Birch intro starts playing. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, verifying the ROM hash, everything, and this always seems to happen. Pokemon FireRed and Sapphire seem to work just fine. Does anyone know what the issue could be?
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
This is a know issue, due to Pokemon Emerald anti cheating coding it has problems running on the 3DS. You can solve this by using a modified rom aka the one that runs on GBA flashcards. Of course I can't link it here so just google it. Alternatively use gbarunner2 instead.
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
2,246
Country
Never heard about any kind of anti cheat. Do you have a source for that?

If the game is freezing it usually means you have a bad dump or the save type is wrong.
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
Never heard about any kind of anti cheat. Do you have a source for that?

If the game is freezing it usually means you have a bad dump or the save type is wrong.

The game has problems running on the 3DS, but not in emulators; for some reason, some people say is the anti piracy measures, no one knows for sure.
 

pistonfish

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
54
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
211
Country
Germany
I built myself an Emerald cia using NSUI without any problems. Are you sure that your dump is fine?
 

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
I'm pretty sure it's fine! I've used dumps from many pretty reputable sources over the course of trying to fix this and it's always given me the same error. Here's the CRC hash I got from 7zip for good measure, I believe this is what it's supposed to be:
1647108554915.png

And raxadian could you tell me maybe like what to Google to learn more about this modified rom? I can't really find anything about it. Also here's the save type I use in NSUI:
1647108835657.png
 

pistonfish

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
54
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
211
Country
Germany
The rom should be good and I used the same save type for my VC. The only difference should be that I used a German version but I doubt that this should be any different. Have you successfully injected any other GBA game?
 

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
I have! FireRed, Sapphire, Metroid Fusion, and a bunch of others work (or at least as far as I can tell, idk maybe they'd get glitches later on in the games but nothing that I've seen from just testing them out). Pokemon Emerald is the only one that does this. I actually tried starting the game and saving after the intro in an emulator too, and then importing the save file to my 3DS, but the same freeze glitch happened a little bit later anyway.
 

pistonfish

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
54
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
211
Country
Germany
Which version of the injector are you using? I'm using v0.26 (Beta 26) and just made another working cia using the same save settings you are using
 

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
I'm using Beta 27, but I could definitely try Beta 26! The thing is though that I've also tried pre-made CIAs (obviously don't want to elaborate or link to them but hopefully you get the idea) and they've had similar problems, so I feel like it might be a problem with my 3DS's GBA emulation or something
 

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
hey! sorry if this is against the rules, but i just thought i'd bump this thread because i still haven't really figured this out and i'd appreciate seeing if anyone else has ever experienced something like this. i've tried multiple NSUI versions at this point and it's the same issue, it's the weirdest thing
 

Takokeshi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Location
-
XP
1,046
Country
Antarctica
It's supposed to work as-is, so I'd suspect that maybe this particular game is a bit touchy and your SD card could be the problem? I'd try with different ones, if possible.
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
It's supposed to work as-is, so I'd suspect that maybe this particular game is a bit touchy and your SD card could be the problem? I'd try with different ones, if possible.
Emerald has anti piracy measures that sometimes trigger this, but modified roms of Emerald do work mostly right, if you don't mind the berries bug and having to save to times before quitting.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gatoula

Takokeshi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Location
-
XP
1,046
Country
Antarctica
Emerald has anti piracy measures that sometimes trigger this, but modified roms of Emerald do work mostly right, if you don't mind the berries bug and having to save to times before quitting.
There is no such thing. Gen 1-2-3 do not have anti-piracy. Feel free to source it if you believe that it does.
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
2,246
Country
There is no AP as far as i'm aware. Either your ROM is corrupt or it's a hardware fault. Recently some 3DS systems have been popping up with weird errors caused by faulty RAM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Takokeshi

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
There is no such thing. Gen 1-2-3 do not have anti-piracy. Feel free to source it if you believe that it does.

Pokemon Crystal had some weird things in pirate copies like a Pokemon Box getting spammed with Ditto.

Gen 3 actually has some anti piracy measures; like the batteries, so people would know a game is fake because it gets the dried battery message. That's not present in Fire Red and Leaf Green as they don't have an inner clock or batteries so for example Pokerus never gets cured.

And in most pirate copies of Emerald you have to save twice to not lose your save file.

So while those problems don't prevent you from playing the game they make clear you are playing a pirate copy.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gatoula

Takokeshi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Location
-
XP
1,046
Country
Antarctica
Pokemon Crystal had some weird things in pirate copies like a Pokemon Box getting spammed with Ditto.

Gen 3 actually has some anti piracy measures; like the batteries, so people would know a game is fake because it gets the dried battery message. That's not present in Fire Red and Leaf Green as they don't have an inner clock or batteries so for example Pokerus never gets cured.

And in most pirate copies of Emerald you have to save twice to not lose your save file.

So while those problems don't prevent you from playing the game they make clear you are playing a pirate copy.
That's not anti-piracy, that's just bad bootlegs not providing the correct hardware for the game. None of this is a concern with agb firm so long as you set the save type properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pistonfish

prtleap

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2022
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Midwest
XP
44
Country
United States
just tried on a different sd card entirely and no dice unfortunately, and yeah i guess it could be a hardware issue. very strange though bc this is a new 3DS i got back in i think 2017 or so? and it has had basically zero issues otherwise. the error doesn't even crash the whole system either, like i can still exit out to the home menu. i think i might just satisfy myself with playing sapphire lmao, but thank you everyone for all the help
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: It's a trap