Xerxes

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello everyone!

I'm a little new to the Wii homebrew scene, but not homebrew in generally, as I myself am very acquainted with PSP hacking and homebrew, I also tried to code a little for a PSP as well.

Well, it seems like I may have run into a little dilemma. My sister just got a Wii for her tenth birthday, and I decided, hey, why don't I hack it. Looking at the bottom of it, I realized that it was a LU65 version. Well, I thought, don't sweat it since I just saw the softmii LU64+ fix that morning. I decided to let her (and her 7 other 10 year old friends [ugh]) have their fun with it before i got a hold of it for the night.

Waking up in the morning, I go into the living room with my newly formatted SD card with BannerBomb and Bootmii and I boot up the Wii. Only to find that while she was playing with it, she updated it to 4.0. UGH!

After browsing around the forums, it appears that there is not really any way to get the Homebrew Channel installed, at this time. So I was just curious about several thing, and I was wondering if anyone would like to help me. First, I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge on whether or not someone is working on the 4.0 w/lu64+ problem? I read in another thread a few days ago that someone named Bushing (or similar) was working on it. Is there anywhere I can keep up with his progress or should I just check back here every day?

Second, I was wondering if there is any sort of Homebrew backup launcher or any other homebrew for that fact that would run just using bannerbomb without the Hombrew Channel? I don't mind running bannerbomb every time if its necessary.

And third, I was wondering if it would be possible to install the Homebrew Channel if I got a mod chip, and if so, what sort of mod chip would people recommend? Also, what would be a trustworthy, preferably U.S. based (due to shipping) retailer?

Thanks for even reading this thread, even if you have no input.
Xerxes