HELP my wii wont playmy retail games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by iwzhidden, Nov 28, 2009.

Nov 28, 2009
  1. iwzhidden
    OP

    Newcomer iwzhidden Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have a wii lu64. with system menu 4.2u.. well i did have hbc.. but some how (someone deleted the channel and reformated it.. I did have preloader installed but cant get it. no hbc. try everything is gone even tried to update.. wont let me ... i think preloader has it blocked.. i can get bannerbomb to work a little but it goes to a black screen.. so cant get hbc. hope someone got a way to fix this issue. how can i recover my wii?
     
  2. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    If you updated and then the Homebrew Channel vanished, the "someone" that got rid of it (and Preloader) was System Menu 4.2. (One of the many spectacular reasons that one should not blindly update.)

    Did you make sure you're using the correct Bannerbomb (which has instructions that are different from the old variant) and the latest Hackmii installer?
     
  3. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you sure you're even trying to access Preloader correctly? I believe it's hold reset while powering on....
    But yeah, updating when you have a modified Wii is blasphemy - you're going to Wii hacking hell for that one. [​IMG]
     
  4. iwzhidden
    OP

    Newcomer iwzhidden Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    i cant get wii connect to turn off.. keeps trying to update. but it fails.. i feel preloader still has part of this blocked. is thier anouther way around..
     
  5. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    If there is a game inserted, that is what's causing the update prompts, not WiiConnect24.
     
  6. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    on a related note to the topic, what would be the reason that disc loading (ie retail) will not load via disc channel... not sure why myself... before an update it worked fine, then after, nothing...
    anyone got anything to offer on this note?
     
  7. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I will make this simple, and easy to read:
    If you have a modified Wii, DO NOT DO SYSTEM UPDATES OF ANY KIND!
     
  8. iwzhidden
    OP

    Newcomer iwzhidden Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    for some reason the wifi not working right. I feel if i can get a wad manager to install a new system menu. or find a way to boot into preloader and undo the disk updates and such that i have set.. About the Retail disk when I incert it shows in ther disk channel but when i hit start it goes to a black screen. I was setting my disk channel to play my orginial backups.. so it could beat fault.. so still looking for a workaround.
     
  9. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    just use something like anyregion changer to install 3.2 and try again from there... perhaps? (ps: use bootmii)
    similar problem for a friend, but wont actually see the game as inserted... it just asks to insert a disc... or that the disc is incorrect...

    --EDIT:
    DO NOT DO THIS; LUA64+... you YOU CAN NOT DOWNGRADE BELOEW 4.0
     
  10. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    dont downgrade blindly as you will BRICK very easly your 3.2 menu ios30 is now a stub and wont work did you have bootmii installed as boot2 or ios and made a nand dump if you did, reinstall bootmii and use your nand dump to get you back to where you where
     
  11. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    hold the reset after powering on the wii then preloader menu will be booted. about your problem, i am a bit confused on what you did before the problem occurred. why don't you start from the top and rehack your wii. http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/ha.../trucha-bug-4-2.
     
  12. iwzhidden
    OP

    Newcomer iwzhidden Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    no. hbc to access.. wii connect24 wont work .. i just get a black screen. try to update nope it wont download anything.. maybe removeing battery will help off the consel. If i try to play a game throughl the disk channel screen goes black when it boots up. HELP only if I could get HBC back.. it would be easier..
     
  13. iwzhidden
    OP

    Newcomer iwzhidden Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    ok I got preloader working. but my hacks ini. file is missing. I can install HBC through preloader. but when the wii reboots its not on my system menu screen. I did get bootmii. installed. but I still cant play retail games. wii connent24 gives a black screen, mii channel black screen. I cant seem to get wad manage to work on HBC it goes to a black screen. even try the Trucha bug restorer same black screen. I dont want to reformat it might lose what hacks I can run. preloaderr said running IOS 70 should it be 249? tryied Anyregion changer.. same black screen. I do remeber that before this all happen the disk channel was showing backups.. LU64 shouldnt do this right? SHOULD I try to Install ALL IOS I can find? and how to do this... HELP PLEASE
     

Share This Page